Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made a single potato in a 1.5 cup baking dish. Two servings, easily. I had trouble scaling the roux, but it worked out in the end. Following JMGINGRICH, I nuked the potato for 2 mins before assembling. Baked 30 min, uncovered: perfect. A bit bland, could have stood some serious garlic and hot sauce; those were added at table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Always a winner - I've made it a lot and this has become my go-to recipe for au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaNDenver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I use aged cheddar cheese... incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Overall a great dish. We like a lot of flavor so depending on the meat course, I have added spices. When making with roasted chicken I always add rosemary to the rue. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Very scrummy indeed! I just added more cheese and added double cream and a pinch of dried rosemary and nutmeg. Then the last 15 minutes I removed the foil, and added breadcrumbs and parmesancrumbs. Absolutely Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these for Easter this year, and when they came out of the oven they were beautiful, however, I then had to cook the ham, after I cooked the ham, I was going to 're warm these right before dinner, when that time came I looked at them and the beautifully golden potatoes were pale a weary looking. They tasted wonderful! Just be prepared to serve them right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The only changes I made were to add more cheese and less onions. I would have preferred more cheesy sauce, so next time will make a bit more and I only used two russet potatoes, but they were the baking ones, so they were really big. Otherwise, a really good & solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Just made the potatoes and they were great! I had some ham which I chopped up and sprinkled throughout the potatoes. It would have been even better with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. As per other reviewers I added a little extra cheese and diced up the onion fine instead of rings. I didn't use half an onion only a slice to give the potatoes a hint of onion which compliments the cheese and potato flavors. I baked the full 90 minutes and like others I did have some burnt potatoes on the bottom. (I used a glass pan so I should have reduced the oven heat as someone else recommended). Great flavor, easy preparation and husband loved it. I will be making these again. Next time I will add some garlic as others have suggested to kick it up a little. Hubby rated this recipe over Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman's) au gratin potato recipe which has been my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a great simple recipe that anyone can make. It's the perfect accompaniment to all kinds of meat. I do occasionally switch it up a bit with green onions or different cheeses - and sometimes dill, which brings out the flavors of the cheese and onion. Of course, bacon or ham is fabulous too - just chop and cook it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States