Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Good overall, but a bit bland...I agree with other reviewers that I would omit the onions as they do take away from the lovely marriage of potatoes and cheese. I used an extra sharp cheddar and grated it myself instead of using pre-grated cheddar. There was quite a bit of butter floating on top and I used the amount stated in the recipe...maybe due to fact I didn't use bread crumb topping as I do in my own recipe...or maybe it was the yellow potatoes I used instead of russets...at any rate, I don't think I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
If you enjoy bland food then this is right up your alley. It's obvious at first bite that this recipe needs to be kicked up a lot. Maybe adding garlic powder? Mustard powder? Not sure but it needs some serious help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
These potatoes are amazing! My boyfriend and I finish the whole dish by ourselves, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I chopped and sautéed the onions with one clove of garlic in olive oil first, then added this to my cheese sauce after sauce was done on stove top. I peeled, and sliced the potatoes, and boiled them to heat them through to reduce time in oven. I put half the potatoes in my bake pan and then put a layer of BLEU CHEESE CRUMBLES (4 OUNCES)over the layer of potatoes, then put the other half of potatoes on top with more cheese sauce to cover. It took about an hour in the oven. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kbcharm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Awesome recipe! Sauteed chopped onions, diced ham, and added 4 cloves roasted garlic to butter. Added a little onion powder too. Turned out very flavorful! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
One of my husband's favorite dishes. Made just a few changes though. I used red potatoes instead of Russet and made the layers thinner so that the potatoes were not stacked on each other but on the onions in between. Also used 2 onions (I like onions) and made several layers of that too. Very yummy. I do add more salt and pepper to my portion as my husband is not a big salt fan and our little is not a big pepper fan and I love both. Thanks so much for this awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
It was excellent, but does need a few slight "tweaks". I made this exactly as written, and maybe it's because I live near Idaho and we get HUGE russets, but I could barely use 3 in a 2 qt. casserole dish. We like the crispy parts the best, so next time I'll use an even larger dish for more surface area. Also, adding bread crumbs and extra shredded sharp cheddar is a must, both for texture and design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Followed many suggestions such as greasing pan and foil thoroughly, chopping onions and removing foil last 20 minutes for browning. Made 1.5 portion (6 potatoes) of recipe and it fit well in a 9x13 pan. Used half and half and sharp cheddar and it turned out rich, creamy and tasty. Easy clean up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteElke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,020) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States