Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Very good recipe, but this is THE BOMB if you use Cabot Buffalo Cheddar! It has that wonderful flavor but is not too spicy. Sprinkle the top with paprika, to sex it up. Also, if the potatoes are nice fresh/new ones I leave the skin on so as not to deprive us of the nutrients and the fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made it with two cups of cheddar, left out the onions and sliced the potatoes with my mandolin slicer. Perfect! I also broiled it for 3-4 mins on high at the end to get a crispy topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Divine! I cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and my spouse loves this dish so much he doesn't care what the main dish is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made these today. They were very good! Instead of leaving the onions in rings I just gave them a rough chop. I also minced one clove of garlic and cooked it with the butter and flour before adding the milk. Otherwise I followed the recipe and everyone loved them. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was really good. I didn't use onions, as the family and I are not fans, but I did use garlic. I very gently cooked the garlic in the roux until it was a light golden color. The potatoes turned out great, and everyone helped themselves to seconds (sometimes thirds). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved this and my hubby did too! I made just a few changes I made the sauce in one and a half servings and layered it with the potato's and didn't use any onions. I let them cook for the 45 minutes which according to mybhubby was slightly not enough time. Then I pulledbthem out 15 minutes before they were done and added cracked pepper garlic powder and a small handfull of cheese. Smash!! I also used whole wheat flour but that do not hurt the taste at all :) thank you for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casslovestocook
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe! I've made this dish with many different recipes but this one was by far the best. To speed up the cooking time, After I cut up the potatoes I cooked them in the microwave for 3 minutes. I also added GARLIC!!! Boyfriend was impressed ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiaMuffin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Used everything but the onions. I also used a cheese grater slicer to cut my potatoes evenly since I read reviews that the thickness and consistency threw off the cooking time. This made about 4-5 layers of potatoes and cheese. My husband couldn't stop eating it and almost half of it was gone before he say down to eat dinner. It was a bit greasy because of the amount of cheese (I'm sure I used more than the recipe called for) but it was worth it (plus with baked chicken...it evens out, right) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this as written and loved it! Then I went back to read the reviews, to see what others thought. I was fine with the onion rings until I read everyone saying how slimy they were, now I think I'll be mincing mine, too, in the future. lol I had a heavy hand with the cheese and thought it was really good!! This recipe will make it to my table again, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Karen Parker Powers
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this for dinner the other night had the in-laws over everybody absolutely loved it wanted my recipe thank you!! I will be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,928) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States