Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a real solid recipe. Tried it for Christmas Eve this year and it was wonderful. I doubled the recipe and sliced the potatoes thinner than a quarter inch. I also cooked it for the first hour with the foil covering it, then i removed the foil, covered the top with panko & crumbled bacon and cooked uncovered for the last half hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe. I made it for the first time, and it was a hit. I substituted sharp white cheddar so that it would not be grainy, and I uncovered it and put it under the broiler for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
We really liked this recipe. I only rated it 4 stars because like other reviews I did not like the onion slices in the center. The next time that I made it I thinly minced about 1/2 of a large onion and mixed throughout with the potatoes, and added a cracker crumb topping to the dish before I baked it. The mix was just 3/4 cup crushed Ritz crackers with 3Tb melted butter. For the last 15 minutes I removed the foil to brown the topping. This is an easy and great side dish with any meal. Thanks Cathy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Pretty good base recipe. I think next time I'd like to try it using different cheeses to get a more robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I increased all portions to make a very large pan of potatoes for Christmas and they turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this to go with roast chicken and sautéed Swiss chard. I made some changes based on tips from others. Used 3 Yukon gold, 2 cups shredded cheddar (needed more cheese), and I sautéed the onions before adding. Used a bigger 1.5 quart pan and covered with foil that I sprayed with Pam (great tip, btw!). It is in the oven now and smells great. Will take foil off 15 minutes early to brown the top. I expect it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So yummy! I doubled the cheese sauce and used diced shallots instead of onion. After, I sprinkled Panko on top and cooked uncovered for an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My family loves Au Gratin potatoes. I don't like serving them processed foods so I'm always looking for good fresh recipes. This one is a winner! I followed the recipe exactly and the dish turned out perfectly! We have it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this recipe as is and it was amazing! I loved making my own cheesy sauce. My whole family loved it. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious!! I left out the onions, sautéed a little garlic in the butter before I added the flour, grated a bit of fresh nutmeg into the sauce and used sharp cheddar. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States