Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made these potatoes a few days ago for a dinner party. I've made lots of cheesy potato dishes, but this is now my favorite. Everybody loved them. I offered to give them the recipe, but they said they like it better when I make the potatoes. They were yummy &hI enjoyed every minute of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was perfect. Follows everything exactly as listed. I happen to really like onions so next time I may add a few more. For those of you who need to prep ahead of time, I put all of this together the night before but did not cook it until the next day. I was a little worried about the ingredients sitting in the fridge over night but everything came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boydta1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. It is a family favorite. Usually I double the recipe, preparing one half as written but divided into two portions one I doubled the cheese, diced and sauted the onion and added a couple of dashes of ground red pepper. The other half I doubled the cheese again but half of the cheese I replaced with Gruyere and added Herbs d'Provence. Could use thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe for Au Gratin potatoes. DH doesn't like onion but I like the flavor it adds so I grate 1/2 a small onion fine and sauté it in the butter till soft and then proceeded with making the sauce as instructed. No large pieces of onion are in the dish which makes him happy but it adds wonderful flavor that makes me happy. I like to use a couple types of cheese such as Cheddar, Havarti, and American. Wonderful recipe. Thanks Cathy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this twice, the first time following the recipe and the second tweaking it to my liking. I'm rating it based on following the recipe. It was good but a little bit lacking in flavor and I didn't care for the onion rings, because I didn't like the chunky onion pieces and a whole onion was too much onion flavor for me. Also, it wasn't fully cooked after 1.5 hrs. But overall it was tasty and I am making my second batch right now(in the oven as I type). Here is what I did this time and I think it will be perfect. I cut the potatoes thinner so that they will(hopefully) be fully cooked. Only used half of an onion and I diced it small instead of rings. Added about 3/4 cup more cheese, and a diced garlic clove to the cheese mix. And then along with the salt and pepper on top of the potatoes I added a tiny bit of garlic powder and paprika. And I poured about 1/4 of cheese sauce on the bottom layer of potatoes and the rest on the top. Mmmmm I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Renea Milliron
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made it for 16 people:) yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I love the recipe. It is fresh and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wondering if you can make this ahead of time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
HELP!! Tomorrow is Christmas Eve - would love to make this, but want to double it ... How long should I cook it, if I double it? Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States