Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jahyeon
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was amazing! I doubled the recipe using a bigger pan and chopped the onion. I sprinkled some garlic powder and onion powder over the potatoes, sooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jahyeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made these with Easter dinner and they were a hit! So delicious, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Delicious...I made two different versions for Easter- this recipe and another on this site. This one was simpler and much better. Keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Easy enough for me to make my own, rather than using a packaged instant. I did layered cheese between each layer of potatoes as other reviewers recommended. But other than that, followed the recipe. Very good. Potatoes were very soft and cheesy. If I want to go with more traditional way, I would omit onion. A plain Au Gratin Potatoes without onion should work just fine in my opinion. Try the cheese sauce with sliced bread, it's so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I've made this a few times now, and I have to say it is pretty bland as written. I decided to make it again the other night and it came out FANTASTIC! We had company over, and everyone, including our toddler, loved it! BUT...I made a TON of changes. However, I will follow my changes from hereon out whenever I make these! Here's what I did if you want to give it a whirl: Sauteed chopped onion and a little minced garlic in 1 TBS or so of butter for a few minutes until the onion began to soften. Added the remaining butter, melted it, then continued step 3 buy adding the flour and so on. For the cheese, I used a blend of SHARP cheddar and a shredded parmesan/romano/asiago blend, adding more cheese than called for. I layered a little sauce in the bottom of the dish, then a layer of potato slices (I like to make them thinner than 1/4", and boil them for 5minutes first, then I don't have to bake them as long), spread another layer of cheese, and so on. I also made a panko/melted butter topping and added that at the last few minutes of baking, uncovered. YUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Have made as listed and it was delish. Had to use bacon the second time 'cause I was out of butter; just crisped up 3 pieces of bacon in a skillet, removed pieces, and used the remaining bacon grease in place of butter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a very good recipe as is, and an excellent one when tweaked a little. The technique of making the roux and cooking the sauce seems to be the key to a smooth and creamy result. As others have said, it's better with a little more sauce. I added an extra cup of half and half and a little extra cheese. Skip the onion. Try a combination of Gruyere and sharp cheddar. Cook sauce on low til nice and smooth. Add to potatoes in layers so all potatoes are fully covered with sauce. Mine cooked a bit quicker than 90 minutes and the cheese began to brown on the glass bottom (maybe the Gruyere?), so keep and eye on it after an hour. As an added kick, although not really necessary, I added some crumbled crispy bacon to the layers. These were the best au gratin potatoes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Mine curdled and I have no idea why. Also, flavor was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was quite good - but another deviation! I sautéed the onions (diced) in the butter and then added the flour, cheese, etc. Also, I diced up leftover Easter ham and put that between the layers of potatoes. Served with green beans and a white wine --very good! Using another cheese along with cheddar would be a great addition - maybe pepperjack! Will make GREAT leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great template recipe for potatoes au gratin. I used sharp cheddar cheese, added 1 T yellow mustard to the cheese sauce, used sauteed red onion, and topped with a sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers. It was really, really good. My SIL swaps out some of the potatoes for sliced mushrooms or bell peppers and just increases the baking time a little to account for extra moisture (just peak under the foil after 90 minutes to see if it looks too liquidy in the middle). I made this fully and then refrigerated it for a day and reheated for 45 minutes at 350--it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,032) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States