Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Because I wanted a spicy version of this I made some changes. after reading all the reviews I sauteed the onions which I chopped. I also sliced the potatoes fairly thin less than 1/4" and par-cooked them...Brought them just about to a boil and then drained. Before I heated the milk to make the roux, I tossed in two jalepenos (seeded them) Just before the milk boiled. I put aside and let the jalepenos infuse. I used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken and added another 1/2 of cheese. I can't imagine the potatoes being cooked enough without cooking them part of the way. at 1 1/2 hours (with par-cooked potatoes) it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
It came out rather bland and a little much liquid for my tastes. I will adjust and give it another go, for it's a good base, but I had a lot of cheese sauce slopping round the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I quadrupled the potatoes, and tripled the sauce to go with our Easter ham. Our company raved about the potatoes more than any other part of the meal! I will make these potatoes every time with ham. I did put the onions in the microwave with a little water for 2 minutes and baked them a little longer in a 12x13 glass pan, but I didn't make any other changes. This recipe is excellent. The photo is upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very yummy! People raved about it. Be very generous with the amount of salt and pepper, and probably a good idea to mix all of the potatoes and cheese mixture first, and then add it to the pan. I cooked for the last 20 minutes with the foil off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was my first time trying his and it turned out very good. Not better than good it was great. My family loved it will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great basic recipe......everyone will have their little twist on it due to taste preferences. I used red bliss potatoes and did not peel them. Also used scallions instead of onions and Gruyere and a blend of cheddar cheeses. Since I made this to go with my Easter ham I used CREAM instead of milk and a hefty dose of pepper, flat leaf parsley and one of my favorite herbs Summer Savory. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! My pappa (who was a chef for 40 years) told me to use just a touch of beef base to the sauce. It cuts the milk taste and adds a unique wonderful flavor! I have made this recipe for 20+ years, but added my pappa's touch - and there is never any left for the day after! I even double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Very good! Cooked perfectly and tasted very yummy. There was a very large amount of oil left on the top after baking that i wasnt sure how to deal with. Still very delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was a family favorite from the first time I made it! Although I followed the directions exactly the first time, I had to tweak it for subsequent preparations. Instead of cheddar, I use at least 8 oz. of Monterey Jack with jalapenos, substitute half and half for the milk in the cream/cheese sauce and uncover for the last 20 minutes. It takes the recipe to a much better place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Lovely classic recipe. I use a garlic/herb salt instead of regular salt and sprinkle with parsley to add color and interest to this recipe. I finish by broiling for that yummy browning cheese look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States