Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious, wonderful. My husband loves it, i omitted the onions for his tastes and used powder instead. amazing when combining cheeses as well. just use up whatevers in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The only change I make is to saute the onions first and also add a garlic clove (sauteed with onions). Wonderful potato dish but also make only occasionally because it is so rich. Never any problems with people complaining!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Hotz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I found the overall taste too bland the last time I made this. This time I changed it up. 1 cup milk ,1- 1/2 cups 10% cream. I heated the milk/cream alone and added 2 whole garlic cloves, 1 tsp sage, 1 tsp thyme and let it warm up gently for about 20 mins then strained the herbs out and let it cool. I used the onions but caramelized them ahead of time. when layering the potato/cheese sauce I added some jalapeno Havarti and about a tbsp parmesan on each layer. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay Kuchiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added bacon jalapenos and Monterey Jack cheese to the sauce then broiled it after baking it with more of the shredded cheese mix came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The onions should be chopped, not sliced to add flavour without affecting the texture. I had to use a 2 quart casserole to hold the recipe for 6 persons and it still bubbled over. Be sure to place your casserole dish on some foil for easier clean up. I also added the sauce intermittently as I layered the potatoes to ensure the sauce gets down to all the potatoes. I like the idea of removing the top foil for the last 20 minutes to get some extra browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Very good recipe, but this is THE BOMB if you use Cabot Buffalo Cheddar! It has that wonderful flavor but is not too spicy. Sprinkle the top with paprika, to sex it up. Also, if the potatoes are nice fresh/new ones I leave the skin on so as not to deprive us of the nutrients and the fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I used my mandolin slicer to slice the potatoes to uniform thickness. I also peeled and sliced them the day before and kept them i the fridge covered in water because I needed to bake them early in the morning to drop off and it worked out perfect. I also left out the onions, added more cheese and baked it a bit longer because we prefer them with a crispy type topping. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Divine! I cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and my spouse loves this dish so much he doesn't care what the main dish is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made these today. They were very good! Instead of leaving the onions in rings I just gave them a rough chop. I also minced one clove of garlic and cooked it with the butter and flour before adding the milk. Otherwise I followed the recipe and everyone loved them. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States