Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very good recipe everybody loved it. The only two changes I'll make next time will be more cheese and pour some on top of the first layer with the onions then place the second layer of potatoes and pour the rest on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very flavorful and definitely better than the boxed stuff. I have made this twice and have found a 1 qt. casserole to be way too small, There is no detail on how many pounds of potatoes to use but the size of 4 russet potatoes could vary greatly. I used only 3 with chopped onion and the potatoes ended up piling higher than the top of the pan. Trying to pour the cheese sauce over was a disaster and there was way more sauce than would fit in the pan. I dumped it all into a 2 qt. casserole & mixed it around. Baked covered for 1 hr, 10 mins, then uncovered for 20 mins. Wasn't brown enough for me so I stuck it under the broiler for a couple minutes, i did find that both times I made this, the sauce stuck to the bottom of the pan & became brown and crusty. If you can manage to scrape that crispy crust off when you are serving the potatoes, it is delicious. Recommend it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
It's delicious. I tripled the recipe, sliced about 12 potatoes thin with my food processor, and chopped 2 onions with the mixing blade, and chopped a pound of white cheddar and 1/4 pound of Swiss. I softened the onions and 3 garlic cloves in butter and alternated layers of potato and onion with some cheese sauce halfway through. Then I poured the rest of the cheese sauce on top, which filled a 3 quart lasagne dish, with a small amount of everything left in an 8 inch dish with chopped ham for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
These are very good, but very time consuming. I opted to chop the onion as opposed to slicing into rings and I mixed the onions into the sliced potatoes as opposed to layering it all in the middle. I also increased the cheese to two cups. Very good and very well received. Thanks for sharing, CathyM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Loved this! The only thing I did different was to add cooked diced bacon to the dish. I happened to have bacon that needed to be used up. Thanks for this wonderful recipe, I will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I've been making this recipe for many years! My mother-in-law gave it to me as it was one of my husband's favorites. I do chop the onions as well and I add one teaspoon of ground mustard but otherwise it's the same. I also started mixing the potatoes in the sauce before putting them in the baking dish as I wanted them to all be well coated with the cheese sauce. I didn't have my recipe with me at our second home so looked here for one and am so thankful I did! I love allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I made this with my Christmas ham dinner and it was delicious! The only thing I changed was using chopped onions instead of sliced. I agree with Gerilynn-will not go back to the box mix again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Patti
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
The onions overpowered the cheesy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Patti
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Simple and wonderful. I cut potato slices thin--1/8 inch. Instead of onion slices I used dried onion bits and when you want to make an outrageous cheese sauce substitute 1 cup of Beecher's Flag Ship cheese. Make sure to remove foil and slightly brown the top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCHamma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is a very good and easy recipe as is. The first time I followed it exactly. The 2nd time I added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper to jazz it up and added a layer of onion on top of the potatoes before the layer of sauce. Sprinkled paprika on top. Uncovered for the last 20 min. You may want to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States