Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
As other reviewers suggested I skipped on the onions. This recipe was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and feel the cheese type/quality is key. I use 3 cheeses that I shred by hand off a block - very sharp cheddar, smoky cheddar, and a little parmesean. Like others who have reviewed dicing the onions is a better texture than rings and try alternating the sauce and potato slices instead of adding at the end. Sometimes I blacken some smoked pork chops, cut them into pieces and add that too. If you pull the foil off for the last 20 min the top will get a nice browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Easy to make and easy instructions.I added 6 pieces of chopped and fried bacon.....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe because of Himself's fondness for a similar dish in an upscale steakhouse in our area, and he likes this even better than theirs! I used a blend of five cheeses, and the only changes I made were slicing the potatoes MUCH thinner and adding a couple cloves of grated garlic to the cheese sauce. This will be our go-to special occasion side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a guide for how much of each ingredient to use. I didn't have milk, so I replaced the whole white flour sauce process with a 16 ounce jar of store-bought alfredo sauce. Heated it up, added the cheese, then prepared as directed. It turned out really rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Amazing! I sliced the onions into really thin rings and they just melt into the dish. So yummy, total comfort food indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
yum! going to make them "loaded" next, but the recipe as-is is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It had absolutely no flavor besides cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Cannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
OMG, the best! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Absolutely delious. I added crushed garlic to the cream sauce and took off the foil the last 15 min. of cooking to really brown that top. also sprinkled top of potatoes with parmesan cheese just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Morley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States