Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I layer ham on top of the onions. I add a little salt to each potato layer. I add ground mustard, pepper, and a small amount of liquid smoke to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This recipe is one of the BEST I've found on this site. Made it countless times, even doubled and tripled it for family events. Always a crowd favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I really love this recipe! The cheese sauce was the perfect consistency. I don't like the texture of whole onions so I diced the onion and sautéed it in butter with some minced garlic, I added that to the cheese sauce and it flavored it up nicely! For my topping, I crushed some sour cream and onion potato chips and removed the foil the last 10 minutes of baking so it could brown. Thank you for sharing this recipe, we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
just average. probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Katona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Really good! I used 1¼ cups cheddar, ½ cup swiss and 2 ounces of cream cheese. Maybe it was because I added the extra cheese, but I needed to add a lot more salt (at the table) to make the flavor come alive. Will definitely make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Riegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just so very good. Dont let the long baking time throw you its very easy. I would add bacon pieces next time but it doesnt need it its perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meggie Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Very good recipe and very easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Okay. Something was missing. Might try the technique again but add some spices to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Doubled this for a large family dinner and it was devoured!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ransom, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Great dish! The last time I made this, I used mild cheddar. If you like cheese, don't do that; the cheese flavor wasn't nearly strong enough. Also, a 1-quart dish isn't nearly bit enough; the thick cheese sauce tried to run off the sides and mound in the middle because it that was the path of least resistance--the dish was already full to the brim with potatoes and onions. Also recommend dicing the onion instead of leaving it in rings; it adds a nice sweet flavor, but you don't get much of that flavor melded in with the potatoes if you're taking a massive bite of onion by itself. All in all, though, one of my favorite ways to eat potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States