Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Easy enough for me to make my own, rather than using a packaged instant. I did layered cheese between each layer of potatoes as other reviewers recommended. But other than that, followed the recipe. Very good. Potatoes were very soft and cheesy. If I want to go with more traditional way, I would omit onion. A plain Au Gratin Potatoes without onion should work just fine in my opinion. Try the cheese sauce with sliced bread, it's so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I've made this a few times now, and I have to say it is pretty bland as written. I decided to make it again the other night and it came out FANTASTIC! We had company over, and everyone, including our toddler, loved it! BUT...I made a TON of changes. However, I will follow my changes from hereon out whenever I make these! Here's what I did if you want to give it a whirl: Sauteed chopped onion and a little minced garlic in 1 TBS or so of butter for a few minutes until the onion began to soften. Added the remaining butter, melted it, then continued step 3 buy adding the flour and so on. For the cheese, I used a blend of SHARP cheddar and a shredded parmesan/romano/asiago blend, adding more cheese than called for. I layered a little sauce in the bottom of the dish, then a layer of potato slices (I like to make them thinner than 1/4", and boil them for 5minutes first, then I don't have to bake them as long), spread another layer of cheese, and so on. I also made a panko/melted butter topping and added that at the last few minutes of baking, uncovered. YUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Have made as listed and it was delish. Had to use bacon the second time 'cause I was out of butter; just crisped up 3 pieces of bacon in a skillet, removed pieces, and used the remaining bacon grease in place of butter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a very good recipe as is, and an excellent one when tweaked a little. The technique of making the roux and cooking the sauce seems to be the key to a smooth and creamy result. As others have said, it's better with a little more sauce. I added an extra cup of half and half and a little extra cheese. Skip the onion. Try a combination of Gruyere and sharp cheddar. Cook sauce on low til nice and smooth. Add to potatoes in layers so all potatoes are fully covered with sauce. Mine cooked a bit quicker than 90 minutes and the cheese began to brown on the glass bottom (maybe the Gruyere?), so keep and eye on it after an hour. As an added kick, although not really necessary, I added some crumbled crispy bacon to the layers. These were the best au gratin potatoes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Mine curdled and I have no idea why. Also, flavor was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was quite good - but another deviation! I sautéed the onions (diced) in the butter and then added the flour, cheese, etc. Also, I diced up leftover Easter ham and put that between the layers of potatoes. Served with green beans and a white wine --very good! Using another cheese along with cheddar would be a great addition - maybe pepperjack! Will make GREAT leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great template recipe for potatoes au gratin. I used sharp cheddar cheese, added 1 T yellow mustard to the cheese sauce, used sauteed red onion, and topped with a sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers. It was really, really good. My SIL swaps out some of the potatoes for sliced mushrooms or bell peppers and just increases the baking time a little to account for extra moisture (just peak under the foil after 90 minutes to see if it looks too liquidy in the middle). I made this fully and then refrigerated it for a day and reheated for 45 minutes at 350--it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Excellent! Perfect as is. I chopped the onion simply because I don't like sliced in my potatoes. I also topped with buttered bread crumbs as someone suggested. Outstanding, easy and I will make again and again. Thank you, Cathy M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Because I wanted a spicy version of this I made some changes. after reading all the reviews I sauteed the onions which I chopped. I also sliced the potatoes fairly thin less than 1/4" and par-cooked them...Brought them just about to a boil and then drained. Before I heated the milk to make the roux, I tossed in two jalepenos (seeded them) Just before the milk boiled. I put aside and let the jalepenos infuse. I used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken and added another 1/2 of cheese. I can't imagine the potatoes being cooked enough without cooking them part of the way. at 1 1/2 hours (with par-cooked potatoes) it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
It came out rather bland and a little much liquid for my tastes. I will adjust and give it another go, for it's a good base, but I had a lot of cheese sauce slopping round the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,019) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States