Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
WOW! They were amazing! Decadent! It was like mac and cheese, but with potatoes instead of noodles :) My tweaks were: 1) I used mini yukon golds, left the skin on, used a mandolin to slice evenly. 2) doubled the sauce like other reviewers mentioned. I like it saucy. 3) I added some parmesan, maybe a half cup in addition to the cheddar. 4) cooked covered for an hour, and then removed the foil and it got golden brown the last 30-45 mins. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbeam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yes I have tried it and it proved to be to the liking of y family. Only change I made was the cheese I used was costco mexican blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was the best scratch au gratin potato recipe I've ever made. I used 2 parts regular cheddar to 1 part extra sharp cheddar. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
It was a big hit with the family. I was surprised that my husband tried it, let alone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow this was delicious! I took other users advice and made more cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Family loved this! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Just WOW. I made this as a side to an everyday dinner and it knocked the socks off the whole family. I nixed the onions and added more cheddar cheese between layered potato slices. I also topped with seasoned bread crumbs. I did take another reviewer's suggestion to microwave the slices for a few mins to cut down on bake time. I cooked on 400 for an hour and pulled off foil for last 10 mins. Will make again and maybe add bacon crumbles or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheelah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have made this several times and it turns out delicious every time, didn't change the recipe other than I didn't measure the cheese so I probably added more than was called for. I also remove the foil for the last 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious ! Followed the exact recipe , used half an onion instead of a whole and chopped. Added french's crispy onions last 10 minutes. Best thing I've tasted in a long time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
The texture of the cheese sauce was thick and unpleasant. I didn't expect an outrageously cheesy flavor, but this dish had no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States