Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I must first tell y'all that I do not like scalloped or au gratin potatoes. Last Christmas, both my Mother-in-law and my husband requested them, though. Then I found this recipe and it seemed easy enough, so I figured is give it a try. I'm so glad I did. These are hands down the best creamy potatoes I've EVER had! I'm making these again this Christmas. And no, I didn't make any changes to the recipe. Follow it exactly and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Ok, I am lazy, and there is no need to go to all this trouble. I mixed the flour in with the milk, and then just threw it all in a pan, mixed it and stuck it in the oven. I didn't melt anything, there's no way I'm going to mess with a saucepan of melting cheese. I just stirred it every half hour while it was baking. It was great! I will never buy one of those Betty Crocker mixes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Three out of four of us LOVED this! I'm not a fan of cheese though...so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! It was so easy to make. We didn't have any left over. That hardly ever happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joeyjojo
Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is excellent. I also make a double portion of this recipe and cook it in a 9x13 pan because it just flies off the table so quick. I did find that cooking it at a lower temperature (325-350) without aluminum foil will bring it to perfection better than putting it in at high heat. I know it is done when the cheese is browning about 2-2.5 hours. I have made this recipe many times both ways. I have a DCS oven though so the temperature intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love this, I think the onions add an additional debt of flavor. It doesn't need any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Just made this recipe and it has ZERO flavor. Cheddar cheese is not the right kind to use, as it does not hold any flavor. I think gruyere cheese or Asiago might be a better choice. I also think cream or half-and-half might be better than milk because I thought it tasted more like flour than cream. I'll never be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charcar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe plus did the following: Add extra cheese plus cayenne for flavor to the cheese sauce. Dice the onions and cook in butter before adding to dish. Consider using 2 onions for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was good, but I found that it didn't brown on top like I hoped it would. I put it under the broiler to brown. Next time I will put a little cheese on top to get that cheesy brown that I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
We absolutely love this dish. I used peeled red potatoes once and unpeeled yellow fingerlings the second time from my garden. I always empty the partial bags of cheese with a little processed cheese and freshly grated Parmesan when I make my cheese sauces. I plan on making a large dish of it to go with the Christmas ham this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States