Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
One of my husband's favorite dishes. Made just a few changes though. I used red potatoes instead of Russet and made the layers thinner so that the potatoes were not stacked on each other but on the onions in between. Also used 2 onions (I like onions) and made several layers of that too. Very yummy. I do add more salt and pepper to my portion as my husband is not a big salt fan and our little is not a big pepper fan and I love both. Thanks so much for this awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
It was excellent, but does need a few slight "tweaks". I made this exactly as written, and maybe it's because I live near Idaho and we get HUGE russets, but I could barely use 3 in a 2 qt. casserole dish. We like the crispy parts the best, so next time I'll use an even larger dish for more surface area. Also, adding bread crumbs and extra shredded sharp cheddar is a must, both for texture and design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Followed many suggestions such as greasing pan and foil thoroughly, chopping onions and removing foil last 20 minutes for browning. Made 1.5 portion (6 potatoes) of recipe and it fit well in a 9x13 pan. Used half and half and sharp cheddar and it turned out rich, creamy and tasty. Easy clean up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteElke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This is in the oven now. If the sauce is any indicator it's incredible. I used 1/3 sharp cheddar, 1/3 Monterey jack and 1/3 Amish Swiss (what I had) and added a few finely chopped sprigs of fresh Rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Yunke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I've made this twice already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Next time saute diced onion. Put cheese between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Added ham for a meal and chopped the onion.Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe and I make it all the time! I use 1 cup of Asiago cheese and 1 cup of sharp cheddar for a stronger flavor. I also add 1 T Worcestershire sauce and 1 tsp prepared mustard. I mince the onions, too. I do not cover it as my husband likes the crispy parts on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
One word!!!!!! "AMAZING" I changed the recipie a little by adding chopped green onion instead of white, and pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar! Yummy! It was a hit in my household. I'm happy at how easy the dish was to prepare too!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States