Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I did not add onions as I wanted the cheese and potato to really come through. I used a store brand cheese regular and medium cheddar. Next time I will use a better grade of cheese....it does make a difference. Will definitely make again, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Very good. I didn't put in the onions, and I added cheddar on top and some parmesan. The parmesan really kicked up the taste, I will use that instead of cheddar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris A. Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I made the following changes: I used Yukon Gold potatoes; While I made the sauce, I microwaved the layered potatoes and onions on high (3 minutes) to give it a head start; I baked on convection roast for 45 minutes (uncovered for the last 10); and I used Gruyere cheese. You could see the onions between the layers of cheese, but they melted in your mouth when you ate them. This is the best au gratin potatoes I have ever made. I can't figure out why other reviewers felt they needed to chop them up or saute them ahead of time. My husband and I absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Great! I made the cheese sauce ahead of time and reheated it when I was assembling it. This is a little bit more work than the box stuff but SO much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
This recipe is fantastic. This was the first time I made au gratin potatoes and they didn't disappoint. I made some changes suggested like sautéing the onions with garlic. I also used 1/2 cup of whipping cream and 1-1/2 cup milk. I had 2 servings left over and I served them with eggs the next morning...delish! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I made the recipe exactly like the directions said. It was so savory and delicious that it's being made a staple dish in this home! The potatoes came out just right and the onions melted in your mouth! I will definitely be making this for our holiday dinners!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Player

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
It lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Very tasty. Diced onions instead of slicing and sautéed them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
The first time it turned out absolutely brilliant, the second time - it was too runny and the cheese was curdled a bit. What was the difference? The white sauce. Make sure when you mix the flour and butter together, you have a fairly thick roux. The first time, I added a bit of extra flour to accomplish this - the second time, I followed the recipe exactly. I added the milk and stirred and stirred - but the white sauce never got as thick as it should, and then couldn't hold the cheese together once it was baking in the oven. I'll be making this again - with minced onions and keeping an eye on the consistency of the flour and butter mixture - because it's a great basic recipe for au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Dinner party loved it. Doubled recipe except for milk & roux (4tbsp). Plus sprinkled some cheese then panko on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States