Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The best Au Gratin Potato recipe ever! Made this last night and LOVED it! Like other reviewers, I medium diced the onion and used 1 1/2 times the sauce recipe. I doubled the cheese to 3 cups. I also added 2 tsp. of dry mustard powder to the sauce. I used about 2 pounds of potatoes, and a 9X13 well-buttered baking dish, since the increased sauce would mean it wouldn't fit into a one quart pan. I baked it, covered with foil for one hour at 375 and then uncovered it for another 20-30 minutes. It browned really nicely. Planning to make this again for a family Easter dinner next week! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent and easy to make. No more box mix for this household. I followed directions as written with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
More like 3.5 stars. It was easy to make, but it was a touch on the bland side. I'll probably make it again, but tinker with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
delish, sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning on there along with the salt and pepper. a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love this recipe, it is super easy to make, I add whatever kind of cheese I have on hand and it is always fantastic. I always saute the onions with garlic and I slice my potatoes and boil them in a pot of water with salt until about halfway done, drain and then layer in the dish. This always cuts my cooking time and eliminates any uncooked potatoes. I also use this same recipe with the butter, flour, milk and cheese to make lots of other dishes..ex. using mozzarella and Parmesan, layered over Italian Sausage and Pasta, makes a mean pizza casserole!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were awesome. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I covered I took off the foil, covered the top in a layer of cheddar cheese, and turned the oven to broil. It gave the potatoes a nice crispy crust of cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I thought this recipe was great and easy!I substituted almond milk, and I do like a little kick to my food so I added 1/2 diced jalapeno and a few shakes of cayenne pepper,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as directed, using a pre-made mixture of cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese. Quick and easy to make, and it reheats nicely. Just add a little milk or cream to the leftovers, cover and bake at 350° for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally to blend the milk in with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Loved it and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I did a layer of potatoes, then onions, then large shrimp, then salt, pepper and creole seasoning, then another layer just like that. Then I made the sauce and poured it over the top then topped it with the rest of the cheese in the bag. Then I covered it with aluminum foil and cooked it on 375 for 1 1/2 hour. It was a one dish wonder!!! You can also add a layer of fresh spinach leaves to each layer to make it even more healthy or you can do a salad on the side. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States