Creamy Asparagus and Peas Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Needs more of a sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This pasta dish doesn't have all the sauce that most of my pasta dishes have but it worked. We really loved all the veggies in it. I didn't have fresh peas so I used frozen, don't think it made a difference. I also doubled the whipping cream, could have added even more. I had read from many of the other comments about not having much flavor and I have to say I thought it did have the flavor. However, I have to say I didn't pour out the bacon grease because of this and cooked the onions in it. I think the bacon drippings really gave it that extra flavor it needed. I also did as some mentioned about cooking the pasta in the water I used for the asparagus. Hint, save some of this so you can use it at the end if you need more liquid in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
We all liked this - especially my 2 year old. I only used 1/2 lb of fettuccine & asparagus but put a lot more cream in the sauce (next time I want to try using some of the pasta water instead of extra cream to save on calories & make it a little less rich). I used parm + mozzarella (next time I will only use parm - the mozz made it stringy). I also omitted the peas. I cooked the bacon in the microwave (a couple extra pieces of bacon wouldn't have hurt ;) & sauteed the veggies in 2 tbsp of butter. I was worried about the asparagus since it was still pretty raw after 5 min boiling (which I then put in a bowl of ice water). But I just made sure to saute it long enough with the onions (I also added a fresh minced clove of garlic right before adding the cream). Very simple & relatively quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Just okay - nothing all that great or special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Pretty good starter recipe. I had cooked spaghetti and cooked bacon on hand, so I crisped up the bacon, removed it, sauteed the onions, some garlic and the asparagus in the grease, added a chopped tomato, seasoned it all with salt and pepper and let it wilt. I squeezed lemon in. When the veggies were ready, I added maybe a 1/3 cup of sour cream (I didn't have any whipping cream), a 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan and the noodles, let it all warm through. Pretty darn good and quick for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very yummy, I will make it again! I used whole grain angel hair pasta, and ham because I didn't have fettuccine noodles or bacon, also used frozen peas....quick and tasty work night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by circusboygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was quite good- I made it for Recipe Group. I did need to make a few changes, based on what I had. I did not have fresh pasta, so I used dried, and frozen peas instead of fresh. Also, I didn't want to buy heavy cream just for 3 T so I used a little sour cream instead. This was very good. I simply sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat rather than boiling, and I think that really added great flavor. I think the heavy cream would have been much better, but we really enjoyed it this way too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Recipe Group selection 3/3/12. I omitted the bacon so we could eat this on Friday in Lent, so I knew I needed to add a bit of flavor back in. I did this by sauteing my peas and asparagus in EVO with my onion and 3 minced cloves of garlic. When my pasta was almost ready, I added the cheese and cream to the veggies and stirred til evenly melted. I felt it needed more cream so all in all I probably used about 1/2 cup of cream. I stirred the pasta into this and tossed to combine and served with shaved parmesan and freshly ground pepper on top. We never missed the bacon. Thanks, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 03, March '12 We enjoyed the ingredients in this pasta dish, but it lacked flavor. We thought it needed more of the sauce and maybe a few more spices. We are having the leftovers tonight and I'm going to make a light fettuccine sauce to add the creaminess that we feel is missing. Might also add some red pepper flakes. I added the bacon right at the end to ensure it's crunchiness. Not a fan of soggy bacon. I think this dish has great potential, as the ingredients are very good, but for us, I need to play with the sauce a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Basic side dish that didn't offer much of a blended taste of ingrediants. I used turkey bacon which at times I think helps some dishes in its own way but it didn't here. The parmesan gave it the most flavor, as I always add a tad more. I used frozen peas and did not blanch with the asparagus. I preferred doing each veggie on its own. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States