Creamy Asparagus Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Pretty good for being a low-cal dish!! I spruced it up a bit with some salt and pepper and just a little more garlic than what the recipe called for. I also didn't squeeze my lemon to it's fullest, fearing that my boyfriend wouldn't like it. I think it was just the right amount. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe needed a lot of adjustments to suit our tastes. I used 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbps olive oil, i sauted the garlic with the asparagus unil tender and moved to the side. I used fat free half and half and almost 1/2 cup of parmesean cheese, the juice of one lemon and let it simmer for a bit. added the asparagus back to the pot and heated through. added salt and fresh black pepper and called it dinner. Will make again and may make a few more adjustments as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I thought that this recipe used too much lemon. Cut the lemon in half and it is much less overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
After suggestions from previous reviewers, I steamed seperately the asparagus and some thinly sliced sweet potato (yam). Added garlic when sauteing some onions and then added cream - once it was thinkened I drained and added the veges. Added a pinch of salt with lemon juice. Tasted great. Would make again. Cheers CJ Thorpe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was really heavy, I think next time I'll make half the sauce. The taste was good though, but it was missing something extra...chicken! Again, next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This didn't turn out well for me. Sauce never thickened even after 20 minutes and some corn starch thrown in. I ended up straining the asparagus and just tossing it and the pasta with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good dish! The only thing I did differently was add 4 cloves of garlic (love garlic!), used a different pasta because I had it in the house, and used heavy cream (because I didn't pay attention when I bought it at the store). I also steamed the aparagus instead of boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My cream sauce curdled, so I threw together a quick lemon butter sauce. It turned out fine and saved dinner from being a total loss. Aside from that, I felt that the subtle flavors of the aspargus were cooked away. It would be better off lightly cooked or broiled with a little butter and garlic. I probably won't attempt to make this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
don't use canned asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Excellent. I didn't alter any of the ingredients during cooking, but did alter the methods. I put the water on for the pasta first thing, thinking it would be easier (and tastier) to keep the pasta warm, if needed, than the sauce. I did not pre-cook the asparagus, just sauteed with garlic. The sauce was not too thin, as mentioned by previous reviewers, but I did make a half-recipe. The delicate flavor of the asparagus comes through beautifully. I did not find this dish bland at all. I did sprinkle with garlic pepper and Parmesan after serving, but I sprinkle garlic pepper and Parmesan on most of my food. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon, & Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States