Creamy Asparagus Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Use half butter/half olive oil for sauteeing. I don't boil the asparagus first. I either add cooked chicken at the end, or diced (1" cut) seasoned chicken with the garlic. Use two cloves garlic and a little seasoned salt or perhaps cajun seasoning. With the cream I sometimes add a little cream cheese. I like lots of sauce so I never reduce the amount of cream. Everyone loves this dish. Always use a fresh lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I used double the garlic and half the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is soooo delicious, I even eat it cold. Absolutely love this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I did like this dish. it was easy to make and did not require a million ingredients. I agree with the other comments, the sauce did take longer than 10 minutes to thicken. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
adding 1/4 cup of shredded parmesan cheese at the 10 minute mark of the simmer for about 2 minutes makes this dish perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Enjoyed this very much as did my 8 year old son and husband. Did add some grated cheese when it was cooking to thicken. I also would add some salt and some kick to take it up a notch next time. Will save this in my file to make again. Thanks for posting :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very easy and so tasty with the addition of bacon and substitution of evaporated milk in the place of cream. I also did not boil the asparagus first as I prefer it with a bit of a crunch and nice green colour. Next time I would reduce the amount of pasta too as I used a pound of dried pasta and it was way too much, soaking up all the sauce. I would also increase the amount of asparagus as I love the stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I found this recipe when I was looking for ways to use up some asparagus that I'd had for several days. I roasted the asparagus rather than sauteeing it and I used a bit less butter, more garlic and angel hair pasta instead of the pasta suggested. I also added some leftover roasted chicken. It was quick and easy and tasted good...thanks for a great starting point with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I had no problems with this receipe except, like everyone else, it took a bit of time for the sauce to loose some of it's liquid. I cooked my asparagus for four minutes, strained it, and then rinsed it with cold water until the asparagus were no longer hot. I then cooked the garlic with the butter and added the asparagus. After that cooked for a minute or two, I added 3/4 cup of cream. To help thicken it up, I added some parmesan cheese. At this point I started my pasta and once that was finished, so was the asparagus sauce. Towards the end, I added half a lemon's worth of juice and then just before we ate it, I added the other half of lemon juice. Add sea salt, pepper, and more parmesan and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very good! I added parmesan cheese to the sauce and sprinkled in over it at the end as well. (Only b/c I had it on hand) I may have boiled the asparagus too long, it got very mushy and I will probably only saute it next time. Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States