Creamy Artichoke Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
WOW!! I couldn't believe how good this recipe is! I was wary with the low-fat stuff in it but it was great. My husband accidentally got me marinated artichokes when I just wanted ones in water and now I am glad he did! I used bowtie pasta and didn't use the full 12 ounces. It was so good I immediately ran a taste to my neighbor who also loves artichokes. She also gave it five stars. I can't wait to taste the leftovers tomorrow. Think I'll add some fresh tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this recipe one step healthier by using whole wheat pasta for more protein and fiber. I used fat-free cottage cheese and fat-free sour cream. Very yummy. I definitely agree that 12 oz of pasta requires more than just 6 oz of artichoke hearts, so I beefed-up the recipe by adding about 15 sea scallops. Just throw them in as you are cooking the onion and garlic. It turned out GREAT! I'm sure that shrimp would work just as well!!! 25 g protein, 14 g fat, 9 g dietary fiber, 31 mg cholesterol,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Great pasta dish! I sauteed chicken cubed chicken breast in olive oil until cooked through and tossed them in the pasta-- tasted even better! My family all loved it, including my kids as did my in-laws who were dining with us! I will definitely make it again. Also, we LOVE arthichoke hearts, my whole family, so I had a can of non-marnited hearts, I tossed in also, it was very good and we all enjoyed more artichoke hearts. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this recipe one night when I was absolutely famished but didn't want to give in to fast food. By chopping the artichokes as they warmed, completely forgetting about the onion, and just generally hauling butt, I got this on the table in under 20 minutes. Slightly more than getting fast food, but a heck of a lot better tasting and better for you. I used hearts in hot marinade, and I will probably do it again. I highly recommend this recipe for everyone, vegetarians and meat eaters (like me) alike, for its delightful mix of flavours, ease of preperation, and the many possible variations. Stop reading reviews and make it already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Made this as written except, after reading the reviews, I added another 6 oz jar of drained artichokes. Also, I didn't have cayenne so used a bit of crushed red pepper. Very easy to prepare, we liked it. I do think the sauce would be better suited to a short pasta so will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I loved this meal! I used feta instead of cottage cheese for taste preferences and I added some fresh spinach and extra artichokes for more vegetables. I added fresh basil and extra garlic. I used egg noodles instead of spaghetti for more protien. If you make it with regular pasta, I recommend a short noodle instead of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made a few revisions, after reading other reviews, and this pasta dish came out great! I cut back on the sour cream, increased the parmesan, added some fresh roma tomatoes to the onion and artichoke mixture, and used penne pasta instead of spaghetti. It was delicious and also made for great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was very tasty. I listened to some of the other reviews and used a larger can of artichokes. I also added a can of chicken and some sun dried tomatoes. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was tasty, but I found it a bit dry. Part of the fault was mine, as I have a huge jar of marinated artichokes from Costco and didn't know exactly how much of the liquid from the jar to add. I ended up adding the whole container of cottage cheese in order to moisten it up, and that seemed to help. I definitely enjoyed this dish and will experiment with adding more liquid from the jar of artichokes next time to see if that combats the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was incredibly delicious! I can't wait to make it again. I only made 6 oz of pasta and had just enough of the sauce. I don't know how you could make this as is and have enough for the full 12 oz of pasta. I couldn't find marinated artichoke hearts at my grocery store, so I just bought the regular canned ones (in water) and marinated them myself. For the marinade, I used generous dashes of dried basil, thyme, and oregano. Then I added about a teaspoon or more of minced garlic, some olive oil, and some vinegar. It turned out great. I also boiled a boneless, skinless chicken breast for about twenty minutes and cut it up, adding it to my plate at the end (not everyone at my house eats meat, so I couldn't add it in the sauce). This is a new favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States