Creamy Artichoke Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I know this has received great reviews and I was hopeful, but this just seemed to fall short of my expectations; flavor seemed weak. I used marinated artichokes, fresh oregano from the garden. Also added fresh Italian parsley, a splash of white wine - still seemed like something was missing. A little better the second day when reheated for lunch but, in my opinion, not a keeper. Maybe someone will have s suggestion as to how I could perk this up - seems like a good base sauce, but again, just not a homerun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
WOW!! Talk about flavor! Everyone loved this from my toddler to my husband. This was easy to prepare. I didn't have any cottage cheese, so I substituted some jar alfredo. I also skipped the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was tasty, but I added a lot to it. I added 1/2 lb of shrimp, and about 1/3 lb of mixed mushrooms when I added the artichokes. I almost think I should have added a second jar of artichokes too. I also added 1/2 lb sugar snap peas to the pasta pot in the last minute or two of cooking. I don't think there would have been enough bulk without the extras. I used wheat Penne, non fat cottage cheese, and non fat sour cream. Served with a salad and homemade breadsticks...wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was tasty, but I found it a bit dry. Part of the fault was mine, as I have a huge jar of marinated artichokes from Costco and didn't know exactly how much of the liquid from the jar to add. I ended up adding the whole container of cottage cheese in order to moisten it up, and that seemed to help. I definitely enjoyed this dish and will experiment with adding more liquid from the jar of artichokes next time to see if that combats the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a dinner party. It was quick and pretty good. I added mushrooms and zucchini to make it heartier. No one at the table liked cottage cheese, but we all agreed that it worked well in this recipe. Next time I will add more spices, it was a touch bland. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Loved this one. I added a bit more cayenne otherwise followed the recipe. Was very happy with the resulting flavors and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is my favorite new dish! I am allergic to wheat, so I used quinoa noodles. This dish was easy to make and a huge success with both my parents, and my picky-eating boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was just ok. I was really expecting something great, and this was disappointing. It was an interesting experiment but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
WOW!! I couldn't believe how good this recipe is! I was wary with the low-fat stuff in it but it was great. My husband accidentally got me marinated artichokes when I just wanted ones in water and now I am glad he did! I used bowtie pasta and didn't use the full 12 ounces. It was so good I immediately ran a taste to my neighbor who also loves artichokes. She also gave it five stars. I can't wait to taste the leftovers tomorrow. Think I'll add some fresh tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this recipe one night when I was absolutely famished but didn't want to give in to fast food. By chopping the artichokes as they warmed, completely forgetting about the onion, and just generally hauling butt, I got this on the table in under 20 minutes. Slightly more than getting fast food, but a heck of a lot better tasting and better for you. I used hearts in hot marinade, and I will probably do it again. I highly recommend this recipe for everyone, vegetarians and meat eaters (like me) alike, for its delightful mix of flavours, ease of preperation, and the many possible variations. Stop reading reviews and make it already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States