Creamy Apple Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Hmmmm I replaced the water with milk, as I knew cooking oats with water would be bland. I added the cinnamon and some vanilla after the oats finished cooking, since I know the heat might destroy the fragrance. An okay recipe, I'll try again, maybe adding a tsp of margarine to the oatmeal next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Not creamy at all, more like "soupy"... and not in a good way. Don't let the photo deceive you, it is not what this recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was OK as written (which is how I made it). With a few changes already suggested it could be great. I agree with others that you need to add more brown sugar. I'd probably use 2 Tbsp next time instead of teaspoons. Could also use more cinnamon and maybe double the maple syrup, which you couldn't taste at all. I put my apples and raisins in while cooking to make them soft and warm. I topped with a bit of butter too. I'll try it again with some tweaks and see if we like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I gave it 4 stars because I used milk in place of the water, added about 1/2 T butter, doubled the raisins, and added apples at the begining (kids prefer soft). My kids gobbled it up , and I must say not hard at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
THis was good, but still lacked something. THanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Photo by AshleighRubyMaxine
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made changes as well after reading other reviews. I added one more teaspoon of brown sugar, one more tablespoon of maple syrup, was very generous when I shook in the cinnamon and a tiny bit of salt. I threw in about 1/2 teaspoon of butter and substituted 1/2 cup water for milk. I toasted some walnuts while the water was boiling because I don't like raisins and topped it with cream as well as blueberries (you can never add too much fruit). The base recipe was very good and the other suggestions were helpful. I feel that adding toasted walnuts made this a 4 star breakfast for myself and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
We doubled this recipe so that we would have some leftovers to take to work the next day and that worked out pretty well. The end result was marginally better than just plain oatmeal, but I wouldn't say the recipe is spectacular...but it is a good way to get a few more nutrients into your kids first thing in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Loved it. Added extra water and brown sugar. Oh and a handfull of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very easy and tasty. It was a bit too sweet for me so next time I'll use a little less sugar. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was a perfect oatmeal recipe. I did almost triple this and I also parboiled my raisins and apples (with skins on) in this mixture. I added a bit more pure maple syrup for flavor. It is thick oatmeal, however, that is how I eat my oatmeal. If you prefer the creamier as my husband does, add milk which he did and loved it! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States