Creamy Apple Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
We tend to like our oatmeal chunky rather than watery or creamy. I used old fashioned steel cut oats, added a few more raisins, more cinnamon, more syrup and 1 t butter to each serving. Perfect! Thanks for the great breakfast idea Jenn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe was horrible! It was not creamy at all. Probably because it was made with water. It was very bland and nasty. Would never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Great for breakfast - I did mine in the microwave and used real maple syrup. I added a bit more raisins and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Just add another tablespoon of brown sugar & maple syrup, a dollop of butter, and 1/4 tsp. of salt - served with a bit of milk on top. You've got a very hearty, tasty, and creamy serving of oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very delicious! I made this for my 15 month old son, and he gobbled it up. I made a few changes, however. I didn't have any apples on hand, so I used 4oz of apple sauce. I also omitted both the raisins and maple syrup, and USED MILK instead of water. I never cook oatmeal with water because it has no flavor...I always use milk. It was nice and creamy and sweet and delicious. I may sprinkle in a few dashes of raw wheat germ before serving the next time for a little added nutrtion. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleighRubyMaxine
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made changes as well after reading other reviews. I added one more teaspoon of brown sugar, one more tablespoon of maple syrup, was very generous when I shook in the cinnamon and a tiny bit of salt. I threw in about 1/2 teaspoon of butter and substituted 1/2 cup water for milk. I toasted some walnuts while the water was boiling because I don't like raisins and topped it with cream as well as blueberries (you can never add too much fruit). The base recipe was very good and the other suggestions were helpful. I feel that adding toasted walnuts made this a 4 star breakfast for myself and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made this using half milk and half water. It was good, but it was still lacking in some creaminess and flavour so I'll just use all milk next time. I added the apples (unpeeled to save time and nutrition) with the oatmeal because I like them somewhat softer. Next time I think I will add some walnuts for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Delicious! It is the maple syrup and cinnamon that make this recipe wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
best oatmeal recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I loved the cinnamon flavor, but it was way too sweet. I only put in half the brown sugar in the first place, and a little less maple syrup than called for. I had to cook it on low-medium for a long time to get rid of the extra water. The oatmeal box says 1.75 c. water per cup of oats; that's the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States