Creamy Apple Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe was horrible! It was not creamy at all. Probably because it was made with water. It was very bland and nasty. Would never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Delicious! It is the maple syrup and cinnamon that make this recipe wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
What a nice change from plain old oatmeal! I did add about a 1/4 of a cup more oatmeal (I like mine thick) and I shredded the apple instead of chopping. I still served it with brown sugar and milk and it was delicious. My two year loved it and that says something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Just add another tablespoon of brown sugar & maple syrup, a dollop of butter, and 1/4 tsp. of salt - served with a bit of milk on top. You've got a very hearty, tasty, and creamy serving of oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
We tend to like our oatmeal chunky rather than watery or creamy. I used old fashioned steel cut oats, added a few more raisins, more cinnamon, more syrup and 1 t butter to each serving. Perfect! Thanks for the great breakfast idea Jenn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
A nice basic recipe, which you can "tinker" with and have a tasty, hot breakfast for your kids. I added a little salt, a teaspoon of butter, and I increased the cinnamon and syrup by a teaspoon. I also cooked the raisins with the syrup mixture, so that they would be nice and plump. My kids gobbled it down. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This sounded wonderful, but did not come out as well as I had expected. It is a decent starter recipe, but by just adding things to oatmeal as to your own taste turns out much better, for instance, you couldn't even taste the maple syrup in this recipe, it need sooo much more brown sugar, and a tad bit of salt. More cinnamon too. Just make oatmeal and add these things to your own taste. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carterville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This was soooo good! I followed another reviewer's advice and added the raisins with the water mixture. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I'm always on the look out for oatmeal recipes, mainly because I like my little ones to eat it. This was good after I tweaked it a little. I used milk rather than water, added lots more brown sugar and cinnamon and left out the maple syrup and raisins. My 2 year old loved the apples in this and I thought it was a terrific idea to added them to oatmeal. I don't think you could get the "creaminess" by using water in my opinion. Thanks for sharing Jenn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I really didn't like this. I was debating 2 or 3 stars. I needed to add more oats because after waiting about 7 minutes for the oats to absorb the water mixture nothing was happening. I left out the apples.. maybe that was my problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States