Creamy Apple Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very delicious! I made this for my 15 month old son, and he gobbled it up. I made a few changes, however. I didn't have any apples on hand, so I used 4oz of apple sauce. I also omitted both the raisins and maple syrup, and USED MILK instead of water. I never cook oatmeal with water because it has no flavor...I always use milk. It was nice and creamy and sweet and delicious. I may sprinkle in a few dashes of raw wheat germ before serving the next time for a little added nutrtion. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Works great! I did not peel the apple and omitted maple syrup. As other suggested, added brown sugar to taste and topped with a little skim milk. Perfection!! Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I had never made oatmeal before, but this was a very easy recipe and it turned out pretty creamy. I left out the maple syrup cause I didn't have any and added some mroe brown sugar instead. I also substituted the apples for peaches. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I just added a little more brown sugar because it was bland. Overall, though it was pretty tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I really didn't like this. I was debating 2 or 3 stars. I needed to add more oats because after waiting about 7 minutes for the oats to absorb the water mixture nothing was happening. I left out the apples.. maybe that was my problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I'm always on the look out for oatmeal recipes, mainly because I like my little ones to eat it. This was good after I tweaked it a little. I used milk rather than water, added lots more brown sugar and cinnamon and left out the maple syrup and raisins. My 2 year old loved the apples in this and I thought it was a terrific idea to added them to oatmeal. I don't think you could get the "creaminess" by using water in my opinion. Thanks for sharing Jenn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This was soooo good! I followed another reviewer's advice and added the raisins with the water mixture. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This sounded wonderful, but did not come out as well as I had expected. It is a decent starter recipe, but by just adding things to oatmeal as to your own taste turns out much better, for instance, you couldn't even taste the maple syrup in this recipe, it need sooo much more brown sugar, and a tad bit of salt. More cinnamon too. Just make oatmeal and add these things to your own taste. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carterville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
A nice basic recipe, which you can "tinker" with and have a tasty, hot breakfast for your kids. I added a little salt, a teaspoon of butter, and I increased the cinnamon and syrup by a teaspoon. I also cooked the raisins with the syrup mixture, so that they would be nice and plump. My kids gobbled it down. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
We tend to like our oatmeal chunky rather than watery or creamy. I used old fashioned steel cut oats, added a few more raisins, more cinnamon, more syrup and 1 t butter to each serving. Perfect! Thanks for the great breakfast idea Jenn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States