Creamsicle® Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe was a good "jumping off" point, but definitely needs some tweaking. There wasn't enough orange flavor for my taste. The orange was so mild, it was more of an after-taste. And the food coloring called for in the recipe only created the merest hint of food color. (But, I do understand that some people prefer no food coloring, so that's OK.) The next time I make this, I'll add freshly grated orange zest for a more intense orange flavor, use more of the filling for the orange, so there will be a nice layer of the orange cream on the top, and will probably add more food coloring to make a more intense orange color -- especially if the grandchildren are visiting. A nice touch would be topping each slice with a slice of fresh orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This is an amazing recipe! Tasted wonderful each of the three times within three weeks that I made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I made my own crust as well. I also used orange zest instead of extract. It came out wonderful. I also didn't do the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My husband is cheesecake fussy and loved this recipe!!!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used the low fat cream cheese, I left out the food coloring, and added a tablespoon of grated orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Lots of praise for the cook with this one! Not a heavy, dense cheesecake, but light and luscious. It's a fitting happy ending for just about any meal. Mine was perfectly baked at 30 minutes. For those who want to make their own crumb crust, one sealed packet of graham crackers, crushed, combined with 5 Tb melted butter, baked at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, makes just the right size/thickness of crust for a 9" pie pan. Prebaking the crust lends a pleasant crunch. I replaced the sugar with 3/4 cup Splenda, as I find that with baked goods, it takes more to ensure the proper degree of sweetness. It was just sweet enough, without being cloying. Guests didn't realize they were eating a low sugar dessert (not completely sugar free because of the graham crackers.) They were doubly delighted when they found out! With that substitution, it makes an excellent dessert for diabetics. The filling as written comes right up to the top of the pie pan. The flavor is fresh and perfectly tangy. I used 6 drops of yellow and 3 drops of red food coloring, which made for a pastel orange color, reminiscent of an actual creamsicle. A lovely, easy-to-make dessert that's a sure-fire crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This recipe was fantastic!! I actually doubled the batter recipe to fit my largest springform pan and made my own graham cracker crust verses buying a premade one. I did have to alter the cooking time due to doubling the batch, so please watch the timing, I believed it safely baked for 50-70 minutes as I checked on it quite often. **When using the orange extract, I used Lorann Professional Kitchen Orange Bakery Emulsion and needed 3 teaspoons when I doubled the batch and tripled the coloring affect for a more vibrate pop of color with in the batter. Everything else was to a T. My husband is harder to please when it comes to cheesecakes because he likes just plain. Will eat a chocolate or Bailey's flavored but this one, won him over big time and once cut and served....didn't go to far and was gone rather quickly. Will totally make again and again. TY so much, wished you could have seen the "dreamsicle" faces that I got when everyone was enjoying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
My husband is a huge fan of cheesecake and creamsicles, so this couldn't get any better for him. I made it for Father's Day and it was a hit. I made three and had none left over. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States