Creamiest Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I would give the recipe itself five stars as it tastes wonderful, but the written directions one star, as if you follow them you will wind up with what my husband referred to as "a tasty rice pudding drink". I would revise the written directions as follows: 1. In a large saucepan, combine 1/2 gallon milk, sugar and rice. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low. Simmer, covered, 1 hour, stirring frequently. Remove pan from heat and let rest 10 minutes. 2. In a small bowl, combine eggs, 1/4 cup milk, salt and vanilla. Stir into rice mixture and return pot to low heat, stirring constantly, for at least 2 minutes or until pudding reaches them desired consistency. Pour into a 9x13 inch dish and cover with plastic wrap, folding back the corners to allow the steam to escape. The third step was fine as written. The second time I made the recipe, I modified it slightly by taking the 1/4 cup of milk for the second step from the original half gallon and adding a fourth egg to make the recipe just a bit thicker and richer. The pudding is really delicious, but following the original instructions as written won't result in a thick pudding as it does not thicken on cooling. A few slight changes and this is a five-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I also made this in the crockpot. It was delicious!! Be sure to add 3/4 tsp. salt when adding rice. Heated 2 cups heavy cream, and 6 cups 2% milk on high for 30 min in covered crockpot before adding 1-1/4 cups sugar, 3/4 tsp. salt, and 1 cup arborio rice. Cooked in covered crockpot on high for one hour and then on low for 1-1/2 hours., stirring every 30 minutes. Beat eggs with 1/4 cup heavy cream, 2 tsp vanilla and 3/4 tsp cinnamon. Stir in 1/2 cup warm milk and rice mixture, stirring carefully. Pour back into crockpot and cook covered on low for 15 minutes. Pour into large bowl, cover with plastic wrap and cool for 45 minutes. Sprinkle with more cinnamon, if desired, and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
came out amazing ... love it... added a little bit of rose water and doubled up the measures ... but it took like 3 hours on the stove ... came out very good... so happy with my results... gave it 4 stars just because it took me so long.. but amazing thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Have made this 3 times. First time as directed, Second time with 1% milk and erythritol (sugar alcohol), Third time with 1% milk and stevia. Surprisingly, the best taste and consistency was with the 1% milk and the erythritol. Also, I put the pudding in individual dishes (ramiken-type; portion control!) to which I first sprinkle cinnamon on the bottom before adding the pudding. Adds a surprise when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Skeptical about how much better this would be than the others I've tried given the time this takes, but glad I did! Wow. I did add the extra sugar, very nice addition. As my daughter replied upon tasting it..."the others tasted like rice with pudding in it, this tastes like pudding with rice in it," said with a dreamy grin. Well put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Boden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
One of the best I have found. I have actually been using this recipe for a few years now. .. always get high reviews. Sorry haven't reviewed sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My husband loves rice pudding but I'm not a fan so I usuallly don't buy it or make it. This recipe seemed easy and it was. My whole family loved it. Even me! I used 4 eggs as recommended by another review. We nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was a gift to the tastebuds! I deviated from the recipe just a smidge to arrive at my result. 1.) I used medium grain rice. (It's just a preference) 2.) I increased the rice amount from 1 cup to 1-1/2 cups. And after seeing the consistency at the end (which was NOT bad), I will probably just make it 2 cups altogether next time. 3.) As someone else mentioned, I increased the sugar amount to 1-1/2 cups to complement the added rice. 4.) I used whole milk. It's the only way to go, truly. 5.) I increased to 3 eggs. 6.) I added some raisins at the end. 7.) Oh, and 2 tsp. unsalted butter. Utterly divine. It tasted amazing warm, and legendary when chilled. Thanks a ton! I'll be making this for the holidays for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been looking for a rice pudding recipe for years and haven't found a good one. I finally found it! This is just like my grandmothers. Creamy and delicious. A bit time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I had not made rice pudding before,and I won't make this recipe again. This should be renamed "Rice Soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States