Creamiest Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been looking for a rice pudding recipe for years and haven't found a good one. I finally found it! This is just like my grandmothers. Creamy and delicious. A bit time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I had not made rice pudding before,and I won't make this recipe again. This should be renamed "Rice Soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, I also read the "Most Helpful Positive Review". I did cook longer than the 2minutes on the last step. We like thick pudding in this house. Delicious recipe! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was the exact recipe I have been searching for. It tastes the same as my mother-in-law used to make it! This was so easy to make and it turned out great. I used 4 cups of whole milk and 4 cups of half/half with 1 1/3 cup medium grain rice. I used 1/4 cup heavy cream in the egg mixture. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as that is plenty sweet enough for my family's tastes. I added a couple of cinnamon sticks while it was simmering for added flavor. This is the best rice pudding hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very easy. I added cinnamon sticks to the milk while it cooked. Then added raisins during the egg/milk addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Even though I read the recipe many times (since I didn't want to ruin it), I didn't see the word 'covered' referring to the saucepan. After cooking the rice mixture 45 minutes I realized It needed to be covered....so it took about 2 hrs. until the consistency was thick. I was nervous about adding the egg mixture, so I added it slowly & stirred like crazy! I' m happy to say it turned out great & tastes delicious--despite my mistake! Thanks for sharing the recipe that I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I found this recipe by searching for Horn & Hardart rice pudding which I loved growing up in NYC. After reading reviews I decided to goslow cooker route. Followed recipe exactly at the beginning as far as ingredients. First got milk warm in cooker on high. Stirred in rice & sugar. Keft on high for 3 hours, stirring every 1/2 hour. Then I looked at it and seemed a l;ittle loose. I left lid to cooker a little ajar and let cook another 1/2 hour. Then mixture got thicker. Tempered in 2 eggs to 1/4c half & half, 2 teaspoons of vanilla and stirred in to rice mixture very well. Reduced heat to medium on slow cooker and cooked another 20 minutes. Shut off cooker and I stirred in some raisins which I plumped in boiling water. Horn & Hardarts rice pudding had raisins. Put mixture in a disposable aluminum tray on a sheet pan. A little cinnamon on top. Then put plastic wrap directly on top of mixture. I let it cool about 40 minutes and then put it in fridge. First thing I did when I woke up today was sampled it. OMG this was PERFECT, CREAMY and absolutely DELICIOUS. I would suggest a slow cooker, because it is a no brainer controlling heat where you risk scorching on a cook top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lindell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is classic. I use just a little bit less sugar (personal preference)and a cinnamon stick. I heat the milk sugar before adding the rice. Once the rice is in I bring it to a simmer (it was about 30 minutes to get to this point) then cook it with the lid partly off until it was the desired consistency. This takes about another 60 minutes. Keep stirring so it doesn't stick and don't rush it. I let the egg and additional milk come to room temperature and I also temper the eggs before putting it into the rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made this for the first time. Mine got thicker when it sat. I did use 1/4 cup of heavy cream instead of the milk. My father said it's better than ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States