Creamiest Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Here's what you do-- add 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the egg whites after you've begun to froth them. This will keep everything from separating. I served this mousse hours later and it was incredibly smooth, rich, and delicious. I also made a ginger syrup by boiling some slices of ginger with a couple tablespoons of water and white sugar, then straining the ginger. I added this to half the batch to make some regular chocolate mousse and some ginger chocolate mousse (topped with candied ginger). Both came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pantryprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. Advice for others --- the mousse is not made to sit. It's supposed to be prepared, then eaten.... Letting it sit in the ice box will allow the proteins and fats to break down and seperate. So... EAT EAT EAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVANNAHVJS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I can't really rate the recipe because I haven't made it yet, but I was reading some of the comments and I have some advice. Add a tablespoon or so of corn syrup to the melted chocolate to solve the clumping issue. The molecular structure of the glucose in the corn syrup helps to prevent crystallization. It is very often added to frostings, puddings and jelly for this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Incredible! Make sure everything, except the cream, is at room temp before starting or the chocolate will not cooperate. If you don't have the alcohol try some vanilla or strong black coffee. I've used dark, semi-sweet and milk chocolates and all were successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is mousse as mousse should be, with beaten egg whites. I would have preferred this with semi-sweet chocolate, but that's a minor criticism and no fault of the recipe. It turned out perfectly without the cream of tartar some reviewers say is a must, tho' adding it won't hurt anything. I didn't use the optional kirschwasser, but added vanilla instead which actually heightens chocolate flavor. I do have a favorite chocolate mousse recipe, however, where butter is melted along with the chocolate, and I prefer the added richness the butter lends. Still, this is a fine recipe. I piped it into chocolate shells and plated it with "Raspberry Sauce," also from this site. It was a dessert I'd be proud and confident to serve to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe as long as you make it right. If the cream and eggs aren't whipped exactly how it specifies, weird things may happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hockessin, Delaware, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Here's some suggestions from a Kitchen Witch who knows how foods work. The recommendation of Cream of Tartar in the eggwhites is right on. The thing with the melted chocolate is that is your get one tiny drop of water in melted chocolate, it will clump up (called freezing up) and there isn't a thing you can do about it. Well you can let the chocolate cool and chop it up for cookies, but it isn't even real good for that since it crumbles. If your chololate clumps up, throw it our and start over. Trust me, I have tried everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While the taste was good, i left the mousse overnight and it seperated making it disgusting to eat with the egg whites pooling at the bottem. also it took both a lot of time and it had those chunks everyone is referring too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is extremely good. Same problem as everyone else though, the chocolate clumped while it cooled down. Still extremely delicious. Even so, I probably won't make it again, I'll look for a recipe without raw egg and something made with cocoa powder rather than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CawagaTribe
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I took all the warnings about the chucnky chocolate to heart and I let the chocolate cool as much as it could without getting hard, but it was still grainy. I don't know if my picture will post, but you'll see the graniness in it. We added cool whip in the middle and it added a nice touch. It still tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States