Creamiest Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Here's what you do-- add 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the egg whites after you've begun to froth them. This will keep everything from separating. I served this mousse hours later and it was incredibly smooth, rich, and delicious. I also made a ginger syrup by boiling some slices of ginger with a couple tablespoons of water and white sugar, then straining the ginger. I added this to half the batch to make some regular chocolate mousse and some ginger chocolate mousse (topped with candied ginger). Both came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pantryprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Fantastic, and surprisingly easy to do (I'm a complete novice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was pretty good--I made it for Valentine's dessert. I used kahlua, and added the corn syrup as recommended by another reviewer. Unfortunately the corn syrup turned the chocolate into a playdoh-like substance. It never would have blended into the egg mixture, so I tried again, adding much less corn syrup this time. The chocolate still came out chunky, which is what the corn syrup was supposed to fix. It still tasted good, though, and it was nice that it wasn't really rich. I served it with whipped cream and hot fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Incredible! Make sure everything, except the cream, is at room temp before starting or the chocolate will not cooperate. If you don't have the alcohol try some vanilla or strong black coffee. I've used dark, semi-sweet and milk chocolates and all were successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I can't really rate the recipe because I haven't made it yet, but I was reading some of the comments and I have some advice. Add a tablespoon or so of corn syrup to the melted chocolate to solve the clumping issue. The molecular structure of the glucose in the corn syrup helps to prevent crystallization. It is very often added to frostings, puddings and jelly for this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great recipe. Followed the recipe exactly, without the kirschwasser. Topped with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Yum yum! This has an amazing creamy-chocolate flavor. Mine was kind of liquidy, so I don't think I blending the heavy cream and/or the eggs long enough. The recipe says it takes 45 minutes to prepare, so I guess I should have blended accordingly. If anyone can post how long these things should be blended, that would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. Advice for others --- the mousse is not made to sit. It's supposed to be prepared, then eaten.... Letting it sit in the ice box will allow the proteins and fats to break down and seperate. So... EAT EAT EAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVANNAHVJS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe as long as you make it right. If the cream and eggs aren't whipped exactly how it specifies, weird things may happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hockessin, Delaware, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While the taste was good, i left the mousse overnight and it seperated making it disgusting to eat with the egg whites pooling at the bottem. also it took both a lot of time and it had those chunks everyone is referring too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States