Creamiest Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The perfect mousse recipe! I followed all of the directions (did use Purdy's milk chocolate), and vanilla in place of the Kirshwasser. So simple, and elegant. This one will be passed on to my family and friends. Thank you for your amazing recipe Je_suis_unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravenyumyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The best chocolate mousse recipe I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This dish was ok I guess. A precipitate formed when the egg whites were whipped, which definitely looked extremely gross. However, I decided to put the whole thing back into the double-boiler and cooked it for a couple minutes on medium heat. And that made the weird white clumps go away. It also cooked the raw egg, which was a plus. It tasted reallllly good after referigerating for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Simple, light and delicious! Problems with this recipe are due to user error, not the fault of the recipe. Make sure all your bowls are completely clean and dry before starting. Contaminated egg whites will never stiffen properly. Chocolate that gets water in it or gets too hot will be clumpy and horrible. If it cools too fast it will leave chunks of chocolate in the mousse. While the chocolate is still warm, blend in the egg yolk a little bit at a time. Chocolate should be warm enough not to harden, but not hot enough to cook the egg. Blend it with the yolk first before folding it in with the whites and whipped cream and it will be fine. Proper mousse separates. Using really fresh eggs and whipping the whites in a copper bowl will slow the separation down, but you really should try to finish it the day you make it. I halved this recipe because 10 servings is a lot for two people to finish in an evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I've made this twice now and it was a massive hit with both family and workmates. The only change I made was to substitute some vanilla extract for the kirschwasser - with apologies to all my Swiss ancestors but I just don't care for it. I did get a few chocolate bits in the second batch because the chocolate had cooled a little too much before going into the egg whites, but people seemed to like finding the solid bits. I will be making this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made this over the weekend and it was wonderful! I did make 4 changes to the recipe, some of which have been commented on by others: 1. Added 1/4 tsp of cream of Tartar to egg whites 2. Added 1 tsp of powdered sugar to whipping cream 3. Added 2 tbsp of butter and 1 tsp of vanilla to chocolate. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
While this recipe was super easy, none of us felt it was chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this mousse and I must say that there are way better mousse recipes out there. The only way I was able to get the chocolate to blend was to follow another reviewers advice and add 1/4 cup water and 2TBSP butter to the chocolate. It is also very important to add the tsp of cream of tartar to the egg whites while beating in order to keep them from separating from the mousse while in the fridge. The mousse was very creamy, however it smelled eggy at first because of the raw eggs and this was a turn off for me. I also felt that it did not have a rich chocolatey taste, and this is important to me. If you do try this recipe, take the suggestions above or else you will end up with consistency problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Came out amazing, i'm a very very beginner cook. Followed the directions as are and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I followwed this recipe to the letter of the law and the chocolate clumped, making it a disaster. I let the chocolate cool while I whipped the white and the cream and it apparantly still clumped. I tried to blend it into the whites and I ruined the fluffiness of the whites. A day later it separated even with the cream of tarter added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States