Creamed Tuna On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Thanks for sharing. Like the other reviewer I made my own cream sauce with milk, flour, & butter. Besides the salt & pepper I added garlic powder and onion powder (1/4 tsp each). Hubby said it hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
simple, quick, easy, comfort food that mama used to make! I added fresh cracked pepper & lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and boy, I'm glad I did. I added a small onion, diced, a can of baby peas, lots of garlic and onion powder, and went heavy on the black pepper. I also only used about 1/2 cup of milk. To be honest, I thought it was still a bit "bland" but my husband LOVED it. It was really true comfort food, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
this recipe was a bit bland. I kick it up a bit. It was a weeknight staple when I was a kid...and also when I raised my own 5. I made it with a white sauce, added frozen peas, a can of button mushrooms, and a couple of quartered hardboiled eggs. Would sometimes add sliced green olives too. Served it over two slices of toast. My kids loved it! Now they're all raised, but my husband still asks for it! He also loves tuna/noodle casserole, which tastes very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I rated 5 but I changed the recipe and left out the milk. I actually just threw together a can of tuna to a can of condensed soup and heated it up. The milk would have made it way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
MY husband was thrilled! His Mom made this when he was a kid and the toaster never stopped! I, too, used cream of mushroom soup and shredded cheddar cheese. I also added two extra cans of tuna and spiced it up a bit with Mrs. Dash's lemon pepper. I will use less milk next time I make this. Thanks for the recipe; so easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a childhood favorite of mine. Except my mother would make a homade white sauce and finished it off with fresh parsley. The parsley is a definite must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Good basic recipe. Not as good as my mom's, but what ever is! Will make again. Even my husband and kids liked it, ok. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I really wish they made a low sodium version of cream of celery soup so because they don't, I used cream of mushroom instead. As others suggested, I added a can of baby peas and more seasonings. Total comfort food and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Will use less milk next time. Too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Patties

Serve these favorite tuna patties as an appetizer or a lunch sandwich.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States