Creamed Spinach with Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought this was great. I was not crazy about the bacon so I think next time I will use it as a topper rather than part of the dish. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. Fresh garlic rather than powder. I also added fresh grated parmesan cheese just before serving. I also would have liked it more creamer so I will experiment with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe with a bit of variation. I added a block of low fat cream cheese and a few pepper flakes. When I made it the previous time it was not creamy enough. This time it was consumed before it made its way to the dinner table. My son who never eats veggies said " mom this rocks." I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used fresh spinach and added fresh broccoli too. I thought the flavor was great. The sauce smelled and tased very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
very good! I used one ten ounce package of fresh spinach instead of frozen. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
THIS IS A KEEPER.....I have 3 kids who hate cooked spinach, but they asked for 2nd and 3rds...I even added a little left over rice and cheese....AWESOME RECIPE...Thanks for sharing...I have printed and put this in a safe place...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
We did a little change up to this recipe and absolutely loved it! Cut bacon and cook until nearly done add in the onion and complete cooking. Decrease the butter amount because the bacon was not drained (used leaner bacon). Made the cream sauce with some added parmesean cheese about a tbsp or 2. Less milk and added weight watchers cream cheese. Fresh spinach. Poured creamed sauce over fresh spinach and served. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I thought this was a really good recipe. I did cut the recipe in half for the two of us. I'm not a huge spinach fan but this recipe seemed to have just the right amount of everything and the dish came together well. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I used coconut oil instead of butter, and fresh garlic, also added about 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and it was rich and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
it was goooood... I did use fresh Spinach about 10oz, chopped garlic glove (about 3 medium size),grana padano cheese, and pre-cooked chopped sausage. make sure you sateed the garlic, onions, sausage with butter first then spinach til the water is almost dry. then add the milk, cheese, butter, and flour. continue to stir it til very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Thanks Lisa! Just whipped this together on a whim and my husband & daughter both loved it!! Both are picky eaters, but suffer through all of my concoctions. They each had 2 helpings...very impressed. I loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States