Creamed Spinach with Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe with a bit of variation. I added a block of low fat cream cheese and a few pepper flakes. When I made it the previous time it was not creamy enough. This time it was consumed before it made its way to the dinner table. My son who never eats veggies said " mom this rocks." I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I used coconut oil instead of butter, and fresh garlic, also added about 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and it was rich and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I thought this was a really good recipe. I did cut the recipe in half for the two of us. I'm not a huge spinach fan but this recipe seemed to have just the right amount of everything and the dish came together well. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
We did a little change up to this recipe and absolutely loved it! Cut bacon and cook until nearly done add in the onion and complete cooking. Decrease the butter amount because the bacon was not drained (used leaner bacon). Made the cream sauce with some added parmesean cheese about a tbsp or 2. Less milk and added weight watchers cream cheese. Fresh spinach. Poured creamed sauce over fresh spinach and served. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
very good! I used one ten ounce package of fresh spinach instead of frozen. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very easy to make with ingredients I have on hand most days - and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was very good. The spinach eaters in my family liked it, too! I skipped the bacon, and used half-and-half instead of milk. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was so not anything like real creamed spinach. Ridiculous amount of fat, tasted more like milk/cream and bacon. The flavors did not meld well, and this was disappointing. The consistency was not good either -- it did not feel like the spinach integrated with the sauce. Very not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Next time just use one package of spinach and see if it turns out creamier like the recipe we have at Providence Place
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was quite good. Definitely a keeper. The only thing I changed was to use a little bit more bacon. Next time I think I might use fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States