Creamed Spinach with Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Good recipe. After making this a few times I decided to experiment by switching out the crumb topping with Parmesan on top before baking. We liked it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was a delicious side dish for dinner tonight. My cooked spinach did not yield a 1/2 cup of liquid so I had to add more milk to make the 3/4 cup necessary. I had decided before starting not to add a jalapeno because I was afraid the pepper jack cheese would be hot enough. In the end it was not. I used Panko bread crumbs instead of regular. I'm glad I found this recipe and probably will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe for Thanksgiving and other special occasions for many years. I love it -- the jalapeno gives it a kick that is a wonderful surprise for those who have never tried it before. It really complements a roast turkey dinner. The recipe I have calls for two packages of spinach and 1/2 cup evaporated milk -- otherwise, it is pretty much the same. I have also substituted pepper jack cheese in this recipe with success. I use a full 8 oz. block. I don't do the bread crumbs and I use sea salt instead of celery salt, and it turns out fine. This is a superb and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
It's spicy. Probably not good for a toddler or younger child. What is extra nice about this is the spinich is creamed but you can still taste the spinich. It's not creamed to death! Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This exact recipe has been around for eons, aka Spinach Madeline, and is one of my top 5 favorite foods. You can also use fresh spinach; just use a little more evaporated milk and eyeball it so it isn't too soupy. I never use bread crumbs, just because they aren't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is SO good and easy! I follow the directions as stated but if I have a red bell pepper on hand I love to finely chop one up and add it in with the onion and pepper. It adds a nice color contrast. Also, I've tried using many types of cheese in this dish and they all seem to work great. My latest version had mozzarella and feta and it got rave reviews at Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made this twice. First time I followed the recipe as-is and really enjoyed the outcome. Second time, I substituted Gruyere cheese and added pepper flakes instead of the pepper jack cheese. It was a creamier and smoother mixture. I also substituted about a 1/4 of the spinach for mustard greens to give it a bit more of a bite. That tasted really good when it was a fresh dish but the mustard greens had lost too much of their flavor in the left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
fantastic loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I was hoping that this recipe would be good, but unfortunately cannot give a better review. I can't pinpoint what was wrong with it, other than the overall taste was off. I made it for a family dinner, and although a couple people said they liked it, others couldn't get it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a great sidedish for Christmas dinner (roast tenderloin with bearnaise sauce, deep fried turkey.....) I used 2 big bags of fresh spinach, half & half and added a little extra jalapeno. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States