Creamed Spinach from Oikos® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just made this recipe - my husband isn't a huge spinach person HOWEVER he LOVED this too!!! AND I have cholesterol issues so the greek yogurt was perfect :-) I've always thought of creamed spinach as a 'no no' since it usually has so much cheese in it - not so any longer, yeah!!! Easy to make and good for you too - would highly recommend, doesn't get much better than that! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So good and easy! I love spinach, but have a hard time getting my hubby to eat it, but he devoured it! I was skeptical since it didn't have any cheese in it, but it doesn't need it at all! I used fresh spinach and added it with the broth and wilted it for a few minutes. Yum! Update: This is a normal side for us now. I have added even more flavor by adding 1/2 an onion and garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy to make and very good. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The recipe was easy and quick. However,it is very bland. That said, will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe was a hit with the whole family... including my 10, 8, and 5 year olds! Super nutritious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Acceptable as a healthier substitute for the usual cream base. Better for you, for sure, but don't expect it to taste as delicious as the normal kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was really good, I did use 1TBSP of coconut oil instead of the butter and sauteed a sweet onion and garlic before I did the flour. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Very yummy! It was good the first time, but still pretty rich, even though I used a 1lb bag of spinach. The 2nd time around I used organic virgin coconut oil instead of butter, whole wheat flour, and only about a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt. I also used mushroom broth ("Better than Bouillon" brand, a broth paste you can keep in the fridge). Even my husband, who is a bit grossed out by the texture of spinach, liked this! That's success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The recipe was super easy and quick. However, as written, it is very bland. I added a bit of flavor by including some fresh minced garlic and a bit of cayenne pepper. Overall, I guess it is a good way to dress up frozen spinach but I've definitely had tastier side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Twice-Baked Potatoes

These reduced calorie, twice-baked potatoes are a family favorite.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States