Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
The nutmeg is the thing!! This is an excellent recipe. It is comparable to the spinach you get at Bostom Market and Buckheads Very quick and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I did not like this. I did not like the nutmeg or the consistency of the whole thing. It was runny and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Good recipe with some changes. Original recipe is soupy. Add 1/4 cup more heavy cream and 1 tablespoon of flour to cream sauce. This will thicken it up. If you aren't a huge nutmeg fan, half the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I had spinche I needed to use but no heavy cream...hence I made 1 Cup of standard medium white sauce (2 T butter,2 T flour,1 C milk, 1/4 t salt, 1/8 t white pepper)and served in a individual pastry tart shells. It was elegant and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I thought this recipe was awful. I love spinach but my boyfriend does not and I htought with a creamy sauce it would be more tolerable. Well there was hardly any sauce and no taste. And how did they think this would make 4 servings? I added some mushrooms and onion I sauteed which made it much better. And I love spinach so the recult was good. But don't spend your time making this, it's not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I sauteed a small onion and 2 cloved of garlic in 1 Tbsp of butter until soft. Then added the seasoning and spinach. I sauteed that just a minute to warm the spinach. I added just a touch under 1/2 cup cream (that's all I had). It turned out GREAT! I'm the only one in my house who like spinach and it was gone in two meals. It was close the creamed spinach at Boston Market..only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Yummy, added some extra garlic salt for taste & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Tasty flavor. Mine turned out very liquidy though. Next time I'll either cut back on the cream or will put in a lot more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I've waited awhile to review this recipe to give it a couple of days to determine if I liked it or not and I think I did - but the jury is still out. I had some difficulty with having the cream sauce stick to the spinach - when serving the spinach was on the plate and the thin cream sauce just oozed off the spinach onto everything else on the plate - pretty unappetizing. I think I will try this recipe again - perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I read the reviews before I tried this dish, but thought I would try it anyway, as many said it was watery. It turned out great, the only thing I changed, was to spin it dry after washing and I wilted the spinach in the pan, in the sauce, at med-high heat. I did not steam it before. The sauce coated the spinach just fine. I did add some cooked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States