Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I added almost a stick of butter, a little garlic salt, and skipped the nutmeg. I also used frozen spinach since I didnt have fresh and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was good; however, I would omit the nutmeg. I think this was too much nutmeg and it carried a powerful taste that my husband did not care for too much. I liked it but could not say it was the best creamed spinach I've had. I think if I omit this, it'll do. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was easy to make, it just took time. To add more flavor the cream sauce I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
"MSCOUGAR",you are the "cat's meow." This recipe rocks! Next time I will reduce the nutmeg and heavy cream by half as it was a bit too spicy and the 1/2 1/2 pooled in the spinach after cooking although I squeezed it dry before putting it in with the rest. The taste was "the bomb." Never had spinach W/nutmeg before. A real treat. At LEAST five stars. - Thanx...Elfhelp...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 Stars because I wouldn't use it "as is" without some additions. However, it is a good basic recipe & reminds me of my Granny's creamed spinach. I add(ed) finely chopped onions, Parmesan cheese, salted butter & garlic salt. I also used bagged (vs. boxed), frozen spinach heated up in the microwave. (It's the "driest" way I know to cook spinach.) I served this (my) rendition at Christmas and it was good enough that the kids ate it w/out complaint. :-) I'll have to try it with bacon, as some Reviewers suggested. That would be a nice variation, I think. Oh, yeah: I do like the nutmeg in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
yummy! I added a crushed clove of garlic and 1/4 cup grated onion to melted butter before mixing in the cream, etc. I also used one box of frozen spinach instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I read the reviews before I tried this dish, but thought I would try it anyway, as many said it was watery. It turned out great, the only thing I changed, was to spin it dry after washing and I wilted the spinach in the pan, in the sauce, at med-high heat. I did not steam it before. The sauce coated the spinach just fine. I did add some cooked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I've waited awhile to review this recipe to give it a couple of days to determine if I liked it or not and I think I did - but the jury is still out. I had some difficulty with having the cream sauce stick to the spinach - when serving the spinach was on the plate and the thin cream sauce just oozed off the spinach onto everything else on the plate - pretty unappetizing. I think I will try this recipe again - perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Tasty flavor. Mine turned out very liquidy though. Next time I'll either cut back on the cream or will put in a lot more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Yummy, added some extra garlic salt for taste & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States