Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I added almost a stick of butter, a little garlic salt, and skipped the nutmeg. I also used frozen spinach since I didnt have fresh and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was good; however, I would omit the nutmeg. I think this was too much nutmeg and it carried a powerful taste that my husband did not care for too much. I liked it but could not say it was the best creamed spinach I've had. I think if I omit this, it'll do. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was easy to make, it just took time. To add more flavor the cream sauce I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
"MSCOUGAR",you are the "cat's meow." This recipe rocks! Next time I will reduce the nutmeg and heavy cream by half as it was a bit too spicy and the 1/2 1/2 pooled in the spinach after cooking although I squeezed it dry before putting it in with the rest. The taste was "the bomb." Never had spinach W/nutmeg before. A real treat. At LEAST five stars. - Thanx...Elfhelp...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 Stars because I wouldn't use it "as is" without some additions. However, it is a good basic recipe & reminds me of my Granny's creamed spinach. I add(ed) finely chopped onions, Parmesan cheese, salted butter & garlic salt. I also used bagged (vs. boxed), frozen spinach heated up in the microwave. (It's the "driest" way I know to cook spinach.) I served this (my) rendition at Christmas and it was good enough that the kids ate it w/out complaint. :-) I'll have to try it with bacon, as some Reviewers suggested. That would be a nice variation, I think. Oh, yeah: I do like the nutmeg in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
yummy! I added a crushed clove of garlic and 1/4 cup grated onion to melted butter before mixing in the cream, etc. I also used one box of frozen spinach instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I read the reviews before I tried this dish, but thought I would try it anyway, as many said it was watery. It turned out great, the only thing I changed, was to spin it dry after washing and I wilted the spinach in the pan, in the sauce, at med-high heat. I did not steam it before. The sauce coated the spinach just fine. I did add some cooked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I've waited awhile to review this recipe to give it a couple of days to determine if I liked it or not and I think I did - but the jury is still out. I had some difficulty with having the cream sauce stick to the spinach - when serving the spinach was on the plate and the thin cream sauce just oozed off the spinach onto everything else on the plate - pretty unappetizing. I think I will try this recipe again - perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Tasty flavor. Mine turned out very liquidy though. Next time I'll either cut back on the cream or will put in a lot more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Yummy, added some extra garlic salt for taste & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States