Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
In the words of my 12yr. old son, "WOW!" This recipe was a big hit. Let's face it Boston Market makes the BEST creamed spinach, but this recipe is a great home version. Like others I altered it a bit. Used an extra 1/4 cup of cream. Cut the nutmeg in half, used 1 T of flour, 1/4 c parmesan, 1/4 c chopped onion, 2 cloves of garlic and 3oz. of cream cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Like some other reviewers I used this recipe as a base and added to my own taste. Still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
No one coulde stomach this recipe. Even after I doctored it up A LOT, two of my children still wouldn't eat it. I wouldn't reccomend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a good base recipe. The changes I make are that I used salted butter, half-and-half to trim some fat, Vidalia onion (about 1/4 of one), and I add about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese to add richness to the taste. Let me tell you, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I also added 1/4 cup chopped vidalia onion, 1 clove of garlic, and 1 T. flour. Delicious! My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Just like going out to dinner at the finest restaurants. Added 1/2 c sauteed onion and 2 cloves garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Four stars as written, Five stars with a few changes, as others also suggested. 1. Saute a small onion in butter until very soft. 2. Saute a couple of cloves of garlic after the onion. Add the onion and garlic to the cream sauce. 3. Add 1/4 cup cream and 1 tsp flour to the recommended cream, and wisk this together. This will make the cream sauce thicker. 4. Reduce the nutmeg just a bit- you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was delicious. I am in the Peace Corps and in my region I have acces to fresh spinach all the time and this was a great use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We love this recipe; my 3 yr old often requests it. We use frozen spinach and it works well. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
yum yum yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States