Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I like this recipe, but I had to make some changes due to what I had on hand. I chopped a small shallot and sauteed that with some garlic in some butter and olive oil. I don't always measure stuff so I just wing it. I didn't have heavy cream, so I concocted some from reading what other reviewers suggested by mixing 3/4 cup milk (2%) and 1/4 cup melted butter. I added a TBSP of flour and a couple shakes of nutmeg and let it thicken, then I added a 16 ox box of fresh spinach. My husband loved it!! I will be making this again, but I will use real heavy cream next time. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good! Made a few minor changes based on what I had. Used 1/2 and 1/2 and (2) packages of frozen spinach. Used only 1/4 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Loved the spinach! Didn't change a thing and my child even ate it which was a complete miracle. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Gave this 5 stars thanks to ABoston's suggestions. I also added the juice of 1/2 a lemon which sent it over the top. Even my picky kids asked for seconds. I could eat this several times a week! Just like the creamed spinach at all the Italian restaurants on the East Coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
i used milk instead...little more liguid but added freshly grated parm cheese...the nutmeg MADE this dish. Tasted even better over smashed yukin gold spuds for a veggie filling dinner! 4 plus stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I added the chopped onion, garlic, flour and parmesan. I used only 1/4t of ground nutmeg. It was great I will use this often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
As written, this recipe would have been very bland, but (as the other reviewers stated) it is a good base recipe. I took other reviewers' advice and used frozen spinach, added a little flour and extra cream to thicken the sauce, added half a chopped onion, and 2 cloves of garlic. I also halved the nutmeg, and added garlic and onion powders. The nutmeg was still pretty strong, but it was good. Even though it came out alright, I think it was missing depth or richness. Maybe next time I'll use salted butter, and add some cream cheese or some shredded 6 cheese italian blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
i added sauteed chopped onion & garlic, used 2% milk instead of cream. YUM. only advice - avoid the food processor! steaming is good enough; processing will turn your spinach to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARIPOSEY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Added 1 T. garlic to sauce. Also, did not chop spinach. Added parmesean cheese before serving.... Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States