Creamed Spinach II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was pretty good. I was leary of using a cream soup for yet another recipe but time was against me and creamed spinach was really on my mind! I used a 16oz. bag of frozen spinach and kept the other amounts the same but also threw in some fresh chopped garlic. I've had much better results when i've used whipping cream or half and half but like i said i was out of time and those items. This suficed but i think unless neccesary, I'll stick to the original without using creamed soups. Thank you for the post, it's really not bad, just not very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I don't usually like spinach, but I gave it a try. I also added 1/2 an onion, 2 garlic cloves, 1/4 cup mile and some parmesan cheese. I decided to use leftovers with pasta. So I cooked rotini pasta, added the creamed spinach, added 1/3 a can of cream of mushroom and a little more milk and cheese. That made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
WOW!!!! This was sooooo good. Taking other advice, I also sauted onion and garlic in butter before adding the soup. Also, I put in parmesan cheese as the last step. I used one box of frozen and one bag of fresh spinach as well. This was quick, easy and yumm-O!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Easy, quick and tasted good. I added some garlic and onion powder to give a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Eh. It was good but I wasn't especially wild over it. Sauteed onion and added garlic and cayenne, used fresh spinach, added a sliver of cream cheese too. Okay but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I was very surprised how good this was! My husband loves spinach,, and this was so easy for a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We're big spinach lovers, but this just didn't cut it for us. I added the onion and garlic, cajun seasoning, and some feta and cheddar cheese...maybe I overdid it, but won't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I've had this in my recipe box for a while and finally tried it tonight. We thought it was good enough to make again and possibly add to our regular rotation. I took the advice of other reviewers and added chopped onion and minced garlic sauteed in butter until golden. I also added some Parmesan cheese and enough milk to thin the mixture just a bit and a little salt & pepper to taste. I think next time I'll add a little lemon juice for extra kick. Has anyone tried Durkee french fried onions? I think that might be a good addition as well. Great basic starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a little bit of milk and some parm cheese. I also added some garlic powder. It needs a little bit more flavor. Some cayenne pepper maybe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Super easy, fast and yummy. Also sauteed garlic and onion in olive oil and added the fresh, chopped spinach. Thanks for a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States