Creamed Spinach II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I was looking for creamed spinach I order at boston market. This wasn't quite it but i think i got it. I added about an extra tbsp of butter, half an onion, 2 garlic cloves, sauteed that. added spinach, chicken bouillon cube and soup. then I added about 1-2 tbsp parmesan cheese and about 1/4 cup milk. ooooooh VERY GOOD almost perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I modified this and used 10 ounces of fresh spinach (never go wrong with fresh veggies) , a can of cream of chicken, some fresh minced garlic, some chopped onion, kosher salt, and topped it with parm. cheese. It came out ver well. No complaints about this one. I imagine any creamed soup would work but it will need seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Tis is by far the best ever creamed spinach we've ever had! Had to join allrecipes just to rate this recipe. Did follow others advice & sauted onions & garlic in butter first. Also added about a 1" slice of cream cheese. (Melted into soup, onion, garlic, butter mixture before adding spinach) Thank tou Lori! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was simple and delicious. My husband and sister-in-law both turned their noses up at the idea of spinach, then ended up going back for seconds and thirds. I added fresh, chopped mushrooms and about half a cup of grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
The basic ingredents in this recipe are great. I too modified it with 1 spoonful of cream cheese, parmesan cheese, and some of those "Real Bacon" bacon bits. It was ready before the rest of dinner was, so I put it in the oven with some breadcrumbs on top and let it stay for 20 minutes. Everyone, including kids, simply loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was even better the next day! I made a couple of alterations to the recipes, however, as suggested by other reviewers: I used a low-fat soup and fresh minced garlic and onion instead of garlic salt, and I added some sliced white button mushrooms for texture. Next time I will add black olives and some red pepper flakes for a different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Pretty good. Adaptions I made included sauting an onion and 2 cloves of garlic with some Italian seasoning. Then I added the soup (using low fat cream of chicken instead.) and spinach. I added a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese while cooking and more on top to serve. The cheese is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was so yummy - it was pretty "soupy" but the flavor was good. My kids weren't overly thrilled with it but the adults liked it! Not good as leftovers though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
WOW! I also changed up my recipe a bit based on past reviewers. I added some cream cheese and then finished it in a small dish in the oven. I added some parmesan cheese to it before putting it in the oven. It is awesome! One thing is (which I am not sure if it was the cream cheese or not) but I did feel like more spinach in the dish would have been a perfect dish. But a 4.5 stars for sure! haha this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This dish was okay. It wasn't particularly great or tasty, but it served its purpose as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States