Creamed Salmon on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My husband grew up eating this. The only difference is instead of making the cream sauce his mother used to use cream of mushroom soup. Less work and just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Super. This recipe was a childhood favorite. I put the salmon in puff pastry cups for a fancier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
For being so simple, this was so good! I did add some marojam and parsley with the pepper for extra flavor. Easy, quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Creamed salmon has been a staple all of my life, but we saute the onion along with finely sliced celery, and we add 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning. It just depends upon what's in your panty. We also think that it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I love creamed salmon on toast, I saute a little diced onion and add 1/2 tsp. of dried mustard to the cream sauce. I replace the peas with cooked asparagus spears layed on the toast before I add the salmon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is exactly how my mother made it except we had it over mashed potatoes. It's still a family favorite! I use skim milk (and cook it longer to thicken the sauce)and serve it over a baked potato. A great cold-weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I skipped the peas and the pea juice, and it turned out really well. I had to let it cook for 20 minutes before the flavors started blending together nicely. Makes a lot. very easy, I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
this is also delicious made with a can of tuna and a great meal stretcher just make more of the cream sauce,it is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE2011

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Great comfort food! My mother used to make this. I did use leftover grilled salmon instead of canned. I also added some finely minced onions and parsley in the sauce for added flavor. I substituted frozen peas for canned too. My husband had never eaten this before and he loved it. I will start making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
As written, this is the recipe I ate (and hated) throughout childhood because I didn't like salmon, hated canned peas and the white sauce was always the consistency of library paste. But then I decided to see if I couln't tweak it to something we'd like. So I sauteed a sweet onion and fresh mushrooms in evo, blanched some fresh peas, used canned red salmon instead of pink and seasoned the sauce with thyme and white pepper. I served it over whole wheat pasta and loved it! Since I had no liquid from the peas, I thinned the sauce with a bit of the pasta water. We will be having this agin for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States