Creamed Salmon on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wow, I was so skeptical about this recipe but could not have enjoyed it more!! I did change it a bit, using a white sauce mix (Pioneer, I think) so it had a bit of seasoning and pepper in it and also cut back the fat a LOT. Then had a hefty cup of leftover frozen peas from the night before and used them instead of canned but boy howdy!! Was it ever good for something SO simple!! We served it over mashed potatoes for dinner and then had leftovers on toast for lunch the next day and both were equally satisfying!! Such a nice easy way to add fish to our diet!! Thanks for puttint it out there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Successfully made it in the microwave by twice interrupting the power to stir. Substituted for canned a family preference for (cooked) frozen peas and ladled it atop boiled potatoes, Norwegian-American style, instead of toast. With fresh-ground black pepper, sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My mother used to make this when I was a kid but we always had it over mashed potatoes. Makes me feel like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious! I made it a little fancier for a dinner party by (1) using 1 inch pieces of steamed skinny asparagus in place of the canned peas (using some of the steaming liquid in place of the pea water); (2) using a sliced bagette, toasted on both sides in the broiler, in place of the toasted bread; and (3) adding about 2 tablespoons of fresh thyme from my garden to the cream sauce. Next time I'll use a little more. It was a hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
A higher end taste to the classic my Father used to make me when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great base recipe. I used olive oil instead of butter, cornstarch instead of flour (gluten intolerance), green beans instead of peas (didn't have peas). It was delicious. Everybody LOVED it. Thank you, Jacque, for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really brings back memories of years gone by, My mother used to make this for my Dad over years I learned to love it..Just finished a plate still tastes as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I didn't think it would be good, but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashly Traxler-Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This recipe reminds me of my mom's recipe. I haven't had hers in years but now I make this quite often for a simple comfort meal! I make 2 pots of it though. One with salmon for me and the other with canned chicken for fiance and kids! It's a bit bland tasting so I'm still trying to tweak the seasonings but that won't stop me from making it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Detz Parillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My 5 year old said, "this is tasty, Mom!" The second day, with leftovers, he said, " Mom this is delicious!" We'll be having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fishing Wild Salmon

See the Knutson family recipe for pan-fried wild salmon.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States