Creamed Salmon on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Successfully made it in the microwave by twice interrupting the power to stir. Substituted for canned a family preference for (cooked) frozen peas and ladled it atop boiled potatoes, Norwegian-American style, instead of toast. With fresh-ground black pepper, sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My mother used to make this when I was a kid but we always had it over mashed potatoes. Makes me feel like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious! I made it a little fancier for a dinner party by (1) using 1 inch pieces of steamed skinny asparagus in place of the canned peas (using some of the steaming liquid in place of the pea water); (2) using a sliced bagette, toasted on both sides in the broiler, in place of the toasted bread; and (3) adding about 2 tablespoons of fresh thyme from my garden to the cream sauce. Next time I'll use a little more. It was a hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
A higher end taste to the classic my Father used to make me when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great base recipe. I used olive oil instead of butter, cornstarch instead of flour (gluten intolerance), green beans instead of peas (didn't have peas). It was delicious. Everybody LOVED it. Thank you, Jacque, for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really brings back memories of years gone by, My mother used to make this for my Dad over years I learned to love it..Just finished a plate still tastes as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I didn't think it would be good, but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This recipe reminds me of my mom's recipe. I haven't had hers in years but now I make this quite often for a simple comfort meal! I make 2 pots of it though. One with salmon for me and the other with canned chicken for fiance and kids! It's a bit bland tasting so I'm still trying to tweak the seasonings but that won't stop me from making it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Detz Parillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My 5 year old said, "this is tasty, Mom!" The second day, with leftovers, he said, " Mom this is delicious!" We'll be having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My mother-in-law used to make this for my husband. I made it and he loved it! I did leave out the peas - he's kind of a purist. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holtzyt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States