Creamed Peas with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good! My husband requested them again the next night! The only thing I would do differently the next time is to add the flour, salt and pepper to the bacon grease and cook the flour for a bit and then add the milk and peas. It tasted a bit like raw flour which I didn't care for, but it didn't seem to phase my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I was craving creamed peas so I hunted for a recipe and found this one which added one of my favorite ingredients...bacon! I didn't have regular bacon on hand so I substituted pre-cooked which left me with no bacon grease. I used butter instead and added a little garlic powder and onion powder. Also used frozen peas instead of canned. Regardless, the dish was delicious and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I loved these peas. I doubled this recipe and added 2 TBSP. corn starch instead of flour. This is a great change from my pea salad which I am famous for and came up with myself but it is the only way I knew to make them except with just butter. My husband said this recipe was definitely going in our family cookbook and I agree. I served it with the creamy garlic mushroom chicken that was left over from a couple nights ago. For those of you who are interested, I threw the left over chicken in the slow cooker and dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup on to and cooked it on high for like 2-3 hrs. till hot through. My variations to the recipe is on my review. I also had homemade whipped potatoes and grilled bread made from 12" hogie rolls. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was good.. made to recipe just doubled for thanksgiving- needs something in the seasoning though.. to us anyway.. thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My husband ate peas! That says it all! Cooked just as-it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe. We've been looking for one like Grandma used to make and this one nailed it. Making more for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm not a fan of peas but my family is so I try ways to "dress them up" and this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I liked this recipe a lot. My husband did not, but to be fair he does not really like peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Seemed to be OK. Maybe little changes would make a difference. Worth trying again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States