Creamed Peas with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good! My husband requested them again the next night! The only thing I would do differently the next time is to add the flour, salt and pepper to the bacon grease and cook the flour for a bit and then add the milk and peas. It tasted a bit like raw flour which I didn't care for, but it didn't seem to phase my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I was craving creamed peas so I hunted for a recipe and found this one which added one of my favorite ingredients...bacon! I didn't have regular bacon on hand so I substituted pre-cooked which left me with no bacon grease. I used butter instead and added a little garlic powder and onion powder. Also used frozen peas instead of canned. Regardless, the dish was delicious and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I loved these peas. I doubled this recipe and added 2 TBSP. corn starch instead of flour. This is a great change from my pea salad which I am famous for and came up with myself but it is the only way I knew to make them except with just butter. My husband said this recipe was definitely going in our family cookbook and I agree. I served it with the creamy garlic mushroom chicken that was left over from a couple nights ago. For those of you who are interested, I threw the left over chicken in the slow cooker and dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup on to and cooked it on high for like 2-3 hrs. till hot through. My variations to the recipe is on my review. I also had homemade whipped potatoes and grilled bread made from 12" hogie rolls. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was good.. made to recipe just doubled for thanksgiving- needs something in the seasoning though.. to us anyway.. thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My husband ate peas! That says it all! Cooked just as-it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe. We've been looking for one like Grandma used to make and this one nailed it. Making more for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm not a fan of peas but my family is so I try ways to "dress them up" and this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I liked this recipe a lot. My husband did not, but to be fair he does not really like peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallymsinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Seemed to be OK. Maybe little changes would make a difference. Worth trying again. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States