Creamed Peas and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This has been one of my family's favorite dishes for years with one variation. Try frying 4 slices of bacon until crisp. Drain and set aside. Make the light roux with 4T bacon drippings instead of the butter. Season with Creole seasoning to taste and crumble bacon into finished dish. There are never any leftovers and even pea-haters love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was okay but I thought it would be better with canned or fresh peas. The thawed peas kind of have a thick, waxy skin. I think they're fine to use as an ingredient in a recipe but when it's the main ingredient, it's very noticeable. It might help if the peas were blanched or parboiled first instead of just thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I needed a side dish for "Best Ever Chicken Casserole" tonight, and this recipe did the trick. I have fond memories of my grandma's creamed peas and this is darn close to the taste I remember. Don't forget to add a little salt and pepper. It's so good, you might think about having this for the main course next time. I like COSMOSCHNAUZ's suggestions and will try them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Quick and easy-perfect for a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
One of my favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
A basic side dish favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Easy to make, classic for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Boring but good. I would never make this for company again...but it is great for your everyday stuff. Nothing to rave about but perfect for that family dinner. Nothing special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I loved this recipe! My husband doesn't care for peas and even he enjoyed it. I fried my onions first with the butter and then added the flour. I also used canned peas and added bacon. It was great and I'll definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I used frozen peas with no onions but added some onion powder. I also like mine just a tad sweet, so I added about a TBS of sugar. I only made half the recipe since Im the only one who eats these at my house :) That's ok, more for me!! Tasted like Mom's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Virginia, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States