Creamed Peas and New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this recipe is very easy to make and unique in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was my fiance's flashback request. He said it tasted just like grandma's...with a little spunk. I doubled the recipe because I knew he would love it, and I added some sour cream because I didn't have quite enough milk. However, I, myself am not a big fan of peas...but I just adore this recipe!!! This recipe is tucked into my back pocket, to use many more times in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vadener
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME!!!!! Simple and incredibly inexpensive to make (only *5* main ingredients + all of them can be purchased in large quantities for very little money = not too shabby!). I made a big pot of this meal for less than $10. You can't beat it for the amount of rich flavor you get out of this easy recipe. You won't be disappointed (I could praise this dish all day!). I can't wait to stop being full so I can eat more of it. I will definitely be making this again. SUGGESTIONS ----------------- -Triple or quadruple this recipe because you will want to share it with everyone you know! Plus, it makes for great leftovers. -Before adding potatoes to sauce with peas, mash the peas in the sauce or put the peas in a food processor and give a slight chop on them before adding to sauce. -Season with salt (black truffle finishing salt works great), fresh coarsely ground pepper, and a generous amount of turmeric. It will change your life. :) -I used medium russet potatoes (which are less than $5 for a huge bag) and had no flavor issues. Baby red potatoes probably would have added to the flavor, but I didn't feel like running to the store to make that kind of commitment. -I honestly don't know what shelled English peas are, but I used store-brand frozen peas and everything was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is the easiest and best recipe ever. Loved it huge hit at the pot luck I took it to. Definite keeper. Made just as directed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is exactly how my mother used to make creamed peas and potatoes. She always used fresh peas and potatoes from the garden, but I used frozen peas and skipped step #2. I just thawed them out and then added them directly to the cream sauce. I know this says to serve immediately, but I like to let it sit for 5 - 10 minutes before serving because the cream sauce will thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This recipe was a perfect rendition of the old time dish my grandma used to make me growing up on the farm. It's very simple and the flavors of the vegetables are really able to shine. I recommend using fresh peas and red potatoes from the garden or local farmer's market. The supermarket just won't be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I altered the recipe a little bit by using 1/2 c. heavy cream instead of milk. I didn't have English peas so I substituted with Birds Eye Steamfresh frozen peas that I microwaved for only 3 min. so they wouldn't get overcooked. I added some parsley when I added the salt and pepper just before serving. I served this with baked stuffed salmon and it was wonderful. My husband said he could have made a meal out of this recipe alone....and he loves salmon! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I skipped the potatoes entirely (didn't feel like cooking them), and just made the white sauce for peas. It was delicious and felt rich, even with milk instead of cream. I'm definitely looking forward to trying it with the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Love this recipe! My grandma makes it too, and when my husband tried hers, he said we have to make this at home! She of course doesn't have a recipe just adds stuff here and there. I need written instructions! Thanks Berta we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My husband requested this recipe because it was something that his Grandma used to make. I made it just like the recipe stated and all of my family loved it. This is something I will make again. Thanks Berta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States