Creamed Peas and New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great old standby, baby reds and green peas made this way are delicious. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Old fashioned goodness! Used frozen peas, steamed. We gobbled it up! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just added a bit extra of flour to make the creamy sauce a bit thicker otherwise YUMMY! Just the way I remember my grandma making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I make this a lot. I add a cube of chicken bouilion to my white sauce. Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is something my mom cooked while we were growing up and this recipe is great! We always enjoy it with ham. Thanks mucho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I liked this. It had a simple and nice comfort food quality. For the peas, I just defrosted some frozen sweet peas. That worked fine. I liked how it had the filling creaminess of the thickened milk without using a bunch of butter or heavy cream like other creamed recipes making it lighter. I even used reduced fat milk and it still thickened up fine. Make sure to cut the potatoes as suggested, so that they soak up plenty of the milk sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
this recipe was just like when my grandmother used to make when i was young i havent had this in so long , this was so good this recipe was a keeper i did as some one said and added onions in my butter and then my peas and oh my mouth watering good i didnt do the potatoes but it was still that good thanks again for a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Pactricia Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is so easy and taste so good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Not my cup of tea. Wanted to try something different, but it was too milky/starchy/bland for my taste. Ended up washing out the milk and re-purposed into mashed potato salad. Oh well, it was easy, and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
All I changed was to add a little extra butter, flour & used 2% canned milk. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States