Creamed Onions with Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made a bechamel on the side, then added the chardonnay and the onions last instead of just adding the cream and butter to the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe. My mom found this recipe about 4 yrs ago to make for my grandpa at Thanksgiving. He always talks about the delicous creamed onions his mother made. Well last year he omitted that this recipe was better then his mother ever made. The rest of my family also loves this recipe and coming from a group who doesn't care for onions is amazing. My mom also took the recomendation of using a quality wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Best creamed onions ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My family loves this dish and it has become a family holiday favorite. If I don't make it, everyone whines. :-) Sometimes I lighten it fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the heavy cream, but both ways it's wonderful. This year I lost my recipe, and am very thankful (pun intended Thanksgiving) that the recipe was still on the site. L from Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
AMAZING!!!!! People always say don't use wine for cooking that you wouldn't drink, and since I am not a fan of chardonnay, I substituted sauvignon blanc one time and pinot grigio another...delicious!!! I added a bit more thyme than the recipe states, but that was just to personal preference. Everyone loved these onions and begged for the recipe. They are the best creamed onions ever in my opinion and so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is a new favorite! I made this for Thanksgiving 2009 for just my husband and I. He is not a fan of vegetables- would prefer just turkey, taters and gravy- so he withheld comment when I told him I was making this. I did a few changes, tho. I did use white pearl onions and also some very small red onions from my garden. I did not want to use that much wine-the cook has to have some- so I mixed equal parts wine and chicken broth which only came to about 2 cups to cover half the onions. I closely followed the recipe thereafter, but could not get it to thicken. So I started adding grated parmesan, stirring and adding more until it got to the consistency I liked. I served it with a little fresh ground pepper and pretty soon my husband started to mmmm-ing, ooooh-ing, and then...WOW! I'm impressed! Add this to our favorites! You should comment on this! So I did! Enjoy and thank you Fredda for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have made this recipe for the last three years now, and with each version, I think I've got the cream sauce just right now. The wine by itself is too strong. This year I added a can of chicken broth, and then filled out with about one third to a half bottle of Chardonnay. This provided enough liquid and the chicken broth tempered the tang of the wine. I also had no thyme and did fine substituting marjoram. Like other reviewers, I had difficulty getting the sauce to thicken. I would suggesting simmering for 15 minutes, and if it is still too runny, then add 2 tsp. of cornstarch (pre-mixed with water) and then it will be fine. I've hung in with this recipe because it really is a unique version of creamed onions, and my guests said this year's version was the best. I would strongly suggest working with fresh pearl onions; they're just much better than frozen. Blanch them for 30 seconds in boiling water, and the peeling is not so bad. Takes about 30 minutes to peel 20 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
We made fairly significant changes to this recipe, but it's a great base. I added 1 cup of Parmesan cheese, about 4 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken (mixed with warm water so it doesn't clump), 3 cloves of pressed garlic and about 1/2 tsp of white pepper. It was fantastic. The cheese cut the tang of the wine, and the wine made it taste very gourmet. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was good, but not exceptional - personally I would have liked more liquid, so next time I'd use more wine & more cream. I'd also kick it up a notch with something... perhaps some roasted garlic. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Delicious! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States