Creamed Onions with Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that is uncomplicated and easy to make. The wine adds a tangy flavor to the onions that is outstanding. Made it for Thanksgiving this year (2005) and it was a huge hit! One relative ate five helpings! I first made it for Christmas in 2004 and made a mistake. The recipe calls for "boiling" onions. It should state “pearl” onions. I used small onions the first time I made it and soon realized it's going to take a lot longer than 25 minutes to cook. This resulted in a loss of too much wine and a considerable increase in cooking time. This year I used pearl onions and they cooked in 25 minutes. Both times making this recipe I had to add either flour or corn starch to thicken it. 1 cup of heavy cream added to 750ml of wine is just not enough. I suggest 1tsp corn starch added to about 2oz of water mixed well, then add it to the onion mixture. This way you don't have to whisk the flour into the liquid, which would require you remove the onions. I would never suspect wine would be a good base for creamed onions, but it works fantastically! I used a complex and oaky Chardonnay: Toasted Head. Give it a try and keep the things I stated in this review in mind. It'll help produce a real nice dish everyone will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
You must use a quality chardonnay and boiling onions! The hardest part of this recipe is preparing the onions. I tried this recipe on Thanksgiving as well- and it was a tremendous hit. Requests were made to add this to our list of holiday traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I will add this to my traditional holiday menu! I used fresh small onions and boiled them in a 1/2- 3/4 bottle of white wine I had on hands, with a bay leaf and thyme. I actually overcooked the onions somewhat carmelizing them(awesome oops). I then transfered the onions to a baking dish covered them in cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup of melted butter and evaporated milk as I didn't have any whpping cream. I topped it with shredded parmesan cheese and finished cooking them in the microwave as I was out of space in the oven. They turned out GREAT! People were asking for the recipe. Next time I will try it with some fresh garlic aswell. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Delicious! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was good, but not exceptional - personally I would have liked more liquid, so next time I'd use more wine & more cream. I'd also kick it up a notch with something... perhaps some roasted garlic. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Excellent recipe and so easy! I am a creamed onions fan and have longed for a recipe that wasn't just your basic onions and flour/milk white sauce. This was a HUGE hit at Christmas Dinner and will be a staple. The sauce was a little thin at the end (maybe too much wine??), but thickened up with just a little flour and wine mix. I think I'll throw in some peas the next time. Definitely listen to other reviewers and use good wine (I used Kendall-Jackson) and the golden onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
big hit at Thanksgiving! Definitely use a good wine as it is the a key flavor along with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I made this recipe last year and my family loved it! I loved it so much that it will now become a a tradition at our Thanksgiving dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Best creamed onions ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
AMAZING!!!!! People always say don't use wine for cooking that you wouldn't drink, and since I am not a fan of chardonnay, I substituted sauvignon blanc one time and pinot grigio another...delicious!!! I added a bit more thyme than the recipe states, but that was just to personal preference. Everyone loved these onions and begged for the recipe. They are the best creamed onions ever in my opinion and so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States