Creamed Onions and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
very good-don't let it get cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
You must like sage in order to like this recipe. And you must be patient to peel all those onions. Otherwise an easy recipe and a special treat. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Prepared this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit. I prepared with frozen pearl onions, just boiled about 6 minutes or so per package directions, and made the sauce as written. Found it was a tad bland, so I added more fresh sage and more salt and white pepper. I like the addition of the lemon, but next time I make these I think I'll use sherry or white wine. I prepared a day in advance, refrigerated, and baked 350* for about 40 minutes or so before serving. Tasty and received rave reviews. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a hit at Christmas, beautifully complimenting the Prime Rib. Several family members expressed interest in making it a traditional side at Christmas. I made it ahead of time and refrigerated it. Several reviews on this site expressed a dislike of the lemon zest and juice, but we really liked it - the key to that flavor is the zest, so if you aren't going to use zest then skip the lemon altogether. We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I really don't like creamed onions but I made this for my mother who enjoys creamed onions. Everyone loved them even the ones who normally don't eat creamed onions. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
These were very good...very thankgiving-ish. Better the next day IMO. Thanks. I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I think this recipe started out on the wrong foot. Ten minutes is plenty of time to boil walnut sized boiling onions. (30 minutes kills them) Making the cream sauce / roux was a snap. I even used potato starch instead of wheat flour. Everything was delicious till I added the lemon juice. The sauce tried to curdle into tiny lumps. The lemon was supposed to thicken or add flavor? The lemony taste did not pair well with the sage and mushrooms. I think this would be a great recipe made with fresh sage, Half and Half and no lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Was so-so. Seemed bland. Husband loved so I'll have to make again, but will look for alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Tried this recipe as given for Thanksgiving this year. Made the day before and just set it in with the turkey to reheat. This is a fabulous recipe! Everyone raved about it! Will definitely have this again in the future. Great holiday meal dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Good recipe. I leave out the salt. Don't be tempted to use jarred or frozen onions in this. They just don't have the same flavor as fresh. For each in prep time, don't peel onions before boiling. Boil, then the peels can be just slipped off very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States