Creamed Onions II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is perfect! I love the flavor just a hint of nutmeg gives. Perfect dish for our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Pleasant but not exceptional. Need to at least triple the spices for a flavorful dish. Next time I will try to increase the roux as well, because the sauce is a nice texture but does not adhere to the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
successful basic recipe for a traditional holiday side dish. omitting the hot sauce, comes out exactly like my mom made from the recipe her old german auntie gave her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
NO FAT sauce 1 Cup skim milk 1/4 Cup skim milk powder and 1 TBS corn starch wisking constantly while heating to a boil to thicken, season as above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Although I'm not a fan of creamed onions, my hubby is and this made him very happy. Thank you Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
My mom would make creamed onions every Thanksgiving. Since I haved moved to Holland I have not been able to have them. I made this recipe for a party That I went to. It comes very close to what my mom would make. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is always "my" dish to make for Thanksgiving. Usually I just wing it, but it was nice to have the proportions done for me- I always forget these guys need an unusually thick white sauce. I used more salt, pepper sauce and nutmeg than called for. I picked this recipe because I've always felt fresh nutmeg was the key to making this dish good and not too bland. Happy turkey day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
They were very good. My husband enjoyed them very much, as did I. I am going to try this dish for Thanksgiving this year as a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Easy and tasty. My onions were too big though they were labeled boiling onions....I really should have bought super tiny onions. A nice warm-the-tummy side dish to go along side your colorful veggies because it is blah-zay white. Perhaps a sprinkling of parsley or something ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States